Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Finding music resources

Selected resources for students of music

Finding Music Resources

All music scores and sound recordings are located on Level  1 of the General Collection, Matheson Library.
All books about music are located on Level 4 of the General Collection.

Books may be in different locations: General Collection (level 4) or other campus libraries.
Write down the location and the whole call number. Note that some high demand items in General Collection are on short loan periods, such as overnight.

Some items are at more than one location.

Back to top

Finding Music Scores

Printed Scores are found in the Music and Multmedia scores.

Check the library catalogue to note the prefix.

e.g. MM780 (mini scores), P780 (performing scores), S/SF780 (scores), SEF (large scores), XSEF (extra large scores).

 

Online Scores are on the Classical Scores Library database or found through and indicated by "Online".

Music online. Classical Scores Library

Example of an online score from Classical Scores Library database

Back to top

Finding recordings

Recordings

CDs are found in the C780 sequence next to the DVDs.

The library subscribes to many databases with streamed sound:

The following link allows you to search across all the following Music Online databases simultaneously: Music Online Listening 
You can also search each collection separately:
American Music
Classical Music Library
Contemporary World Music
Jazz Music Library
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Naxos also offer a classical music and a jazz music collection:
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library. Jazz

CDs on an Electronic Database, e.g. Naxos Music Library

When using Naxos, please remember to log out.

Vinyl Recordings are in the Vinyl Collection.

DVDs

Remember whether your item is a book, CD, Vinyl or DVD, you need to capture the entire call number to locate it. e.g. DVD 784.9165 A784 2002.

Back to top