Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding evidence for evidence based practice
Selected databases for locating systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, case studies and other evidence.
Use these resources to locate evidence to support your clinical decision-making:
CINAHL plus (EBSCOhost) CINAHL Plus, an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, provides indexing for 1,000s of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health (17 allied health disciplines in all) with indexing back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
JBI EBP database (Ovid) The JBI EBP database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Subject Area Nodes: Evidence organized into health care area/specialties. Only information specific to that health topic is included in each database.
Ovid MEDLINE Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Cochrane library The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.
Trip database Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Links are made directly to relevant evidence-based material on the web, as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. It also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
BMJ best practice Users need to create a personal account
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
Evaluating the evidence - trust v. skepticism
Evaluating the evidence for quality is a critical component of evidence based practice. Consider where the evidence sits in the evidence hierarchy. Where possible, use the highest evidence possible, such as Cochrane Systematic Reviews. If there is no available evidence at the top levels, you may need to drop lower in the hierarchy. Be critical.
- Credibility - author qualifications, reputability (peer-review), use of references
- Currency - currency of the evidence
- Reliability - objective, unbiased (research question, study design, funding, publishing), transparency of methodologies
Turn your topic or question into a search strategy
Using the 'PICO' method discussed on the EBP page, this documentation tool will talk you through isolating the concepts in your topic or question to create a systematic strategy to search for evidence.
Applying the evidence
The final stage in Evidence Based Practice is to apply the evidence to your practice. This means that you need to evaluate the evidence, once you have found it, and use it to support the clinical decisions that you make. Do this in conjunction with your own clinical experience and your patient's values and expectations.