Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Databases & Journals

This guide will introduce you to resources for politics and international relations.

Databases

Monash University Library offers students and researchers access to thousands of huge databases of academic literature and research information. 

Along with books, the academic journal articles you find in these databases are the best and most reliable resources to reference in your assessments.

Click the tabs above to see some of the best databases to use for assignments and study in Politics and International Relations. 

 

Below is a list of key databases with a specific focus on topics in both Politics and International Relations. Read their descriptions to get an idea of content coverage and relevancy to your research.

 

Multidisciplinary databases are those that cover a wide range of academic subject areas. They are a great place to search if you have a topic with a broad focus.

Loading ...

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another way of searching Monash University Library resources.

If you use the link below or the links in Library Search and the A-Z Databases page to access Google Scholar, you'll be able to use the Check for full text link to go straight to many of the articles contained in the Monash University Library databases - all while using the familiar Google interface.

 Remember, Google Scholar should NEVER be the only place you look for your resources, but it can be a good place to start.

Using Google Scholar:

Journals

Monash University Library has tens of thousands of journals available online and in print.

Journals publish the best articles from top researchers, and recent volumes from major journals are the most up-to-date academic information in your field.

Click the tabs above to see some of the best journals publishing new research in Politics and International Relations.

Loading ...

Grey Literature

Related image

Grey literature is informally published material that usually has not been peer reviewed or formally published.

It can however be invaluable for use in your research. This is because it will often be more current that traditional published sources and can be a better source of information on things like policies and programs.

It is produced from a variety of sources such as governments, businesses and organisations often making it a challenge to find.

The Monash Grey Literature Library Guide is an excellent resource that provides more detailed information on how to find and evaluate grey literature for use in your research.