Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science

What is a Standard?

Standards:

  • may be defined as documented, sanctioned or approved agreements.
  • give precise criteria for consistent use, as rules or guidelines, to ensure that any given material, product or service fulfills its purpose effectively.
  • provide reference points against which similar matters may be compared and measured.

Finding standards at Monash

Standards databases and in print

Monash students and staff may access various standards subscribed to by the library. Conditions for these databases vary.

Some additional standards may be located by entering the standard title in the Library's Search

ASCE library : American Society of Civil Engineers research library

  • Database includes e-books and standards.

ASI - Australian Steel Institute

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials)

  • ASTM publications are available via ASTM digital library  (repository of ASTM journals, Special Technical Publications, technical papers, ebooks, manuals, Data series, Proceedings, Bulletins, and monographs).
    • Access to standards is only via IHS Standards Expert landing page.
    • Registration with Monash email required to use this product.
  • Staff and postgraduates contact your subject librarian if you wish the Library to purchase individual standards not covered by the above.

The Australian design rules for road vehicles

  • Held in Multimedia collection:
    • Motor Vehicle Standards Act 1989
    • Second Edition ADRs (applying to vehicles manufactured from 1969 to 1989)
    • Third Edition ADRs (applying to vehicles manufactured from 2 August 1989)
  • Connect to the latest admendments on the Australian Design Rules website.

Austroads Publications Online

BCA Illustrated, 2013

British standards online (BSOL)

  • Modules 48 relating to construction in general; and 51 relating mainly to civil engineering.
  • On campus only.
  • Eurocodes and annexes are available through this platform.

IEEE Xplore

  • Electrical and electronics engineering database, providing access to IEEE transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, plus all current IEEE standards

SAE Digital Library

  • Indexes citations and document summaries of books, standards, journal articles, conference papers, etc on mobility research worldwide.
  • Use the “Quick Search” to search for all SAE's publications including standards and specifications, or limit search to standards. Deselect the “Limit to Full Text” option.
  • Contact your subject librarian if you wish the Library to purchase individual standards.

Standards on-line premium

  • Note that we have discontinued our access to Standards on-line premium. Please use Techstreet Enterprise (below) instead.

Techstreet Enterprise - Australian standards

  • Offers a searchable database of technical standards and specifications, produced by Standards Australia, with full text views.
  • Replaces SAI Global's Standards on-line premium.

Standards websites

Click organisation name for more information.
Click URL to go to oganisation website. Opens in new tab.

AAMI - Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation

   https://www.aami.org/

 

ADR - Australian Design Rules

   http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/motor/design/index.aspx
   Free access

 

ANSI - American National Standards Institute

   www.ansi.org/

 

ASTM - American Society for Testing and Materials

   http://www.astm.org/
   The library holds a number of print sets of Annual book of ASTM standards

 

BSI - British Standards Institution

   http://www.bsigroup.com/

 

FSANZ - Food Standards Australia New Zealand

   http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/
   Free access

 

IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission

   http://www.iec.ch/

 

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc

   http://www.ieee.org/index.html
   Monash students and staff may obtain full text standards via IEEE Xplore

 

ISO - International Organization for Standardization

   http://www.iso.org/
   ISO standards may also be searched via Techstreet Enterprise, which replaces SAI Global's Standards on-line premium.

 

ITU - International Telecommunication Union (Telecommunication Standardization Sector)

   http://www.itu.int/
   Some free access

 

NISO - National Information Standards Organization

   http://www.niso.org/
   Free access

 

PSA - Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

   http://www.psa.org.au/supporting-practice/national-competency-standards
   Free access

 

SA - Standards Australia International Ltd

   http://www.standards.com.au/
   Monash students and staff may access the full text of Australian Standards via Techstreet Enterprise, which offers a searchable database of technical standards and specifications, produced by Standards Australia, with full text views. Techstreet Enterprise replaces SAI Global's Standards on-line premium.

 

SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers

   http://www.sae.org/

 

SNZ - Standards New Zealand

   http://www.standards.co.nz/

 

UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

   http://www.unesco.org/
   Free access

 

VicRoads - Vehicle standards information

   https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/safety-and-road-rules/vehicle-safety/vehicle-standards-information
   Free acces

 

WHO-OMS - World Health Organization

   http://www.who.int/
   Some free access

 

WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization

   http://www.wipo.int/
   Free access

 

Further Information

  • IHS Australia (Information Handling Services Group Australia) - major vendor of Australian and other standards
  • NSSN (National Resource for Global Standards), produced by ANSI - bibliographic information for over 225,000 international and national standards (U.S. focus)
  • SAI Global InfoStore may be used to purchase (or search for) Australian and other standards.
  • Non-Monash individuals may visit the State Library of Victoria to access various standards (Standards and Codes Of Practice). NOTE: this no longer includes Australian Standards via "Standards on-line premium".