Skip to main content

Slavic & Eastern European Studies: Library Collections

A guide to Slavic Studies resources at Monash University Library, including the Ada Booth Slavic Collection

Ada Booth Slavic Collection

The Ada Booth Slavic Collection is home to Monash University Library's Slavic language materials. The collection was established in 2011 as a result of the Library being named the beneficiary of the estate from the will of the late Ada Phyllis Booth (1921-2008), physicist and lecturer at the University of Melbourne. 

 

Rare Books

Rare and fragile materials relating to Slavic and Eastern European Studies are housed in the Library's Rare Books collection and can be requested for viewing in the Library's Special Collections Reading Room. The collection includes original Bolshevik and Soviet political posters, propaganda and original avant-garde editions.

 

General Collection

Print resources in non-Slavic languages are housed in the Library's general collection. Use Library Search to find materials relevant to your interest.

 

Databases & eBooks

The Library provides access to an extensive collection of eBooks and Databases. Use Library Search to find eBooks relevant to your interest. A list of key databases for research in Slavic and Eastern European Studies is listed here, and a comprehensive list is available on the Library Guide for Databases by Subject.

 

Journals

The Library has extensive holdings of both print and electronic journals in Slavic and Eastern European Studies. You can find a list of key journals for Slavic Studies and more information here.

 

Music and Multimedia Collection

The Music and Multimedia Collection contains information in a range of formats, including music scores, CDs, vinyl record, 78rpm, cassette tape, DVDs, video tapes, CD-ROMs, microfilms, microfiche and kits. Materials are housed mainly in the Matheson Library and in the Vera Bradford Collection at the Peninsula Library. Of particular note are the new subscriptions to the Collected Works editions of Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, Martinu and Rachmaninoff and the works of Slavic Australian composers. For ethnomusicological research there are extensive holdings of the music and texts of folk songs from many Slavic countries. A more detailed description of the Library's holdings is available on the tab for Slavic & Eastern European Studies: Music.

 

Newspapers

The Library's newspaper collection includes community newsletters from Australia's communities. You can also access many newspapers from Russia and Eastern Europe through the Library's database subscription, and the Library also provides access to archives of major Soviet news publications. For more information check the Newspaper Library Guide.