Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Soviet cinema online : archival documents from RGALI, 1923-1935. This archive contains materials providing information on the activities of the Soviet film company Sovkino and its relations with various other companies in the film industry, both in the Soviet Union and abroad, between 1923 and 1935. The collection contains administrative, personnel and financial records, transcripts of meetings, statistical reports, documents related to film export, film import, and film production, reviews, film repertoire, etc. The list and contents of the documents in this collection is shaped by the fact that Soviet cinematography was the target of focused official policies ...
Soviet cinema online : film periodicals, 1918-1942. This collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.
Filmakers library online The collection includes documentaries that are already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Alexander Street Press This portal provides access to many of Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. Users can also select to search a single collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Informit Edu TV For teaching use only
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 20,000+programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 20,000+ programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation...
As well as significant documentaries Informit EduTV also includes several programs broadcast on Pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, NITV, BBC Knowledge and Discovery
Studies in Russian and Soviet Cinema
Publication Date: 2007 - present
Studies in Russian & Soviet Cinema focuses on pre-revolutionary, Soviet and post- Soviet film, its aesthetic development, and its position between ideology and industry.
KinoKultura: New Russian Cinema
Publication Date: 2003 - present
Quarterly online journal includes articles and reviews on on contemporary Russian visual culture, especially cinema, as well as festival reports.
SBS Українська мова
SBS Ukrainian news, contains radio podcast and video on demand in Ukrainian.
Channel One Russia was the first television channel to broadcast in the Russian Federation. The website offers streaming of many of their programs.
Serbian radio and TV station and news outlet, provides streaming of their programs with the website available in Serbian and English.
Founded in 1920, Mosfilm holds a unique catalog of motion picture produced in the Soviet Union and modern Russia. A large part of this catalog has been made available online through youtube, and many films include English subtitles.
Vintage Film Club
Russian Classic Films Online from the Lenfilm studio. Movies are available for rent or purchase, but the site also includes a section where you can watch a selection of movies for free with English subtitles.
Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film
International Federation of Film Archives
Національний центр Олександра Довженка
National Oleksandr Dovzhenko Centre is a state enterprise that integrates the State Film Archive of Feature Films and the Film Copying Laboratory. De-facto, Dovzhenko Centre is the state Ukrainian cinemateque. It is the only Member of the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) in Ukraine.
Croatian Film Archive.
National film archives of the Republic of Serbia, founded in 1949 as the central Yugoslav Film Archive.
Българска Национална Филмотека
Bulgarian National Film Archive
Národní filmový archiv
Czech National Film Archive
Gosfilmofond of Russia is a federal government state-funded cultural institution-cinematic organization, that is storing collections of movies and other film materials, as well as implements collecting, art manufacturing, culturally educational, artistically historical, filmographic, methodological and informative activities.
Reference Works - Cinema in the Soviet Union, Russia and Eastern Europe
National Film Organisations
National Film Organizations promote national cinema and provide a wide range of resources including trailers, cast, and information about film festivals and screenings.
Most of the following organizations are part of European Film Promotion (EFP), an international network promoting and marketing European cinema globally.