Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre and Performance studies: ATS1287

Selected resources for drama and theatre studies

The Bacchae, Antigone and The Tempest streamed online

You have access to many plays online via Alexander Street Press, Digital Theatre Plus, Drama Online and Routledge Performance Archive. Recent additions from  Alexander Street Press include The Bacchae and Antigone directed by James Thomas.     Drama Online offers many streamed plays from the Royal Shakespeare Company, RSC Live, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen and The Hollow Crown.

Acknowledging sources using the MLA Style

Dictionaries

Annotated bibliography

Finding further scholarly sources
To find further sources, go to the the bibliographies and reference lists of the authors of books and journal articles of the resources you locate for your annotated bibliography or your essay. Oxford Bibliographies has comprehensive lists of scholarly journal articles and book chapters:
Greek Theatre Production by Peter Meineck
​Saint Plays and Miracles by Clifford Davison
William Shakespeare by David Bevington

Finding journal articles

Use databases to find journal articles, including peer-reviewed scholarly material.
Databases containing theatre and performance studies research can also be found on the theatre databases tab or the Databases page.

Start with the following:

QuickStart to call numbers

792.09 — Theatre history                           792.0938      Ancient Greek
792.09415    Irish                                       792.0943     German
792.0948      Scandinavian                         792.0944      French
792.0947      Russian                                  792.0994      Australian

822 — English drama                                    832 — German drama                         
          822.1 – 822.2 Medieval                     839 — Scandinavian drama
          822.3        Renaissance                      842 — French drama  
          822.33      Shakespeare’s works        852 — Italian drama
          822.4       17th Century                      862 — Spanish drama
          822.5       18th Century early             872 — Latin dramatic poetry & drama
          822.6       18th Century late               882 — Classical Greek drama
          822.8       19th Century                      895.5 – 895. 9   Asian Literature
                                                                                    895.6 – Includes Japanese plays
A822 – Australian plays

Contacts

Librarians 

  • Jackie Waylen (Subject Librarian for Theatre, Performance and Music, Matheson Library, Clayton)

Learning Skills Advisers

Recent Books