Key contacts
Welcome
Whether you are on-campus or off-campus, you will find library resources and programs that are academically relevant to your studies in Social Work. Our librarians can work with you to develop your research skills, citing and referencing, and help you to access services and resources in the Library. In 2022, we will continue to offer virtual drop-ins via Zoom where you can quickly 'meet with a librarian'. We will also offer regular workshops for Harvard referencing, search techniques, and EndNote during the year. You can also book consultations with learning advisers in Student Academic Success (SAS).
Try - NEW!
- Social work abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1968. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. It provides researchers with scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights.
Explore
- SAGE research methods foundations This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to that particular method. While a general search can provide an overwhelming number of results, Foundations offers a targeted list of entries to guide users through the content. The navigation menu puts the entry in context, so users can easily find more general topics related to a method or continue on to more specific sub-topics. The hundreds of entries cover qualitative and quantitative methods, key research studies, and profiles of important researchers.
New Library resources
Families in Transition
Families in Transition: Parenting Gender Diverse Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults is a compilation of clinically oriented articles, research, and case material authored by mental health and medical experts, both nationally and internationally known, as well as first-person narratives written by parents and families, exploring the complexities faced by parents and caretakers attending to the needs of their children in a largely hostile world.
'Crossover' Children in the Youth Justice and Child Protection Systems
"Crossover" Children in the Youth Justice and Child Protection Systems explores the outcomes faced by the group of children who experience involvement with both child protection and youth justice systems across several countries, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia. Situated against a backdrop of international evidence and grounded in a two-year study with the Children's Court in Victoria, Australia, this book presents a cohesive picture of the backgrounds, characteristics, and pathways traversed by crossover children.
Handbook on Children with Incarcerated Parents
The second edition of this handbook examines family life, health, and educational issues that often arise for the millions of children in the United States whose parents are in prison or jail. It details how these youth are more likely to exhibit behavior problems such as aggression, substance abuse, learning difficulties, mental health concerns, and physical health issues.
Practical Implementation in Social Work Practice
How can someone determine whether to implement an evidence-supported intervention? What can be done to make sure any intervention is implemented well? Is there a foolproof way to adapt interventions for different client groups? In this book, Jennifer L. Bellamy and Danielle E. Parrish takereaders through the implementation of interventions, offering insight into the steps necessary before intervening and what to do after one has taken place.
Making Relational Care Work for Older People
This book explores the concept of relational care, what it feels like for older people and for carers, why it makes life happier and how those involved in residential or community care can make it work.
Opening the Black Box of Cabinet-Level Politics
This book takes a look at social expenditure in affluent democracies in times of fiscal austerity.
Good Policing
Renowned criminologist Mike Hough illuminates the principles and practices of good policing in this important analysis of the police service's legitimacy and the factors, such as public trust, that drive it.
Complexities of Researching with Young People
Currently, most books on youth research available on the market focus on 'how to' conduct youth research, or the research process itself. This edited collection proposes to take this process a step further and discuss the complexities of youth research from a practical and theoretical context.
Youth Justice and Social Work
It is vital for social work students and practitioners to understand the complexities of the youth justice system. This fully revised second edition analyses and puts into context several pieces of new legislation such as the Criminal Justice and Immigration Act 2008, the Youth Rehabilitation Order 2009 and the new Youth Conditional Caution.
Myths, Narratives and Welfare States
This unique book explores the question of whether different myths and narratives have an impact on the development of welfare states.