Other useful guides
What are electronic resources?
Electronic resources, sometimes called eresources, are materials in digital format accessible electronically. The library subscribes to eresources such as peer-reviewed ejournals, scholarly ebooks, and databases.
Getting started
All Monash students and staff can access eresources through the Library
- Catalogue Search tool
- Website
- Subject Guides
- A-Z databases
- A-Z ejournals
- Newspapers
For best results login using your Monash account.Alumni can access electronic databases through the Alumni webpage.
There are three types of results when searching for eresources
When you conduct a search of library eresources the results list generally consists of citations. Citations are basic information about the resource – for example , e.g. author(s) names, book title, article title, journal title, data of publication – that etc., that you use to create intext referencing and bibliographies.
Results lists also display an abstract, which is a brief summary of the resource.
When you see the term “full text” it means you can access the full article, rather than just an abstract which provides a brief summary of the article. Most databases are configured to automatically generate full text results. If you see a PDF or HTML link on an article, it means you have full text access.
If the Library has an active subscription to the specific resource, it means you can get full text access to the complete publication. This means that you can view, save or print the full article. In the example below, selecting the “View PDF” icon will grant you access to the article.
You can also configure Google Scholar, PhilPapers, and PubMed to automatically check for full text access.Get help
For when you need support beyond this guide
Book a one-to-one online consultation with one of our librarians
Email your query for expert librarian support.
Explore FAQs developed by ask.Monash