Skip to main content

Access electronic resources: Set up Check for full text

Tools and settings for easy access to Library's electronic resources

Check for full text

Check for full text connects Monash users from databases and discovery tools to Library Search where they may find full text.

It has been enabled in many, but not all, electronic resources licensed by the Library.

It appears as    button or Check for full text link in search results and/or individual records.

This guide provides information of how to use the Check for full text feature at Monash in general and also specific instructions to set up:

How to use Check for full text

If a database does not provide full text, locate and click on the   button, or Check for full text link. This will take you to the Library Search page where you may locate full text.

If the full text is available, click View it tab and then “Available at… “ link to access the full text (sign in required).

Note:  If there are multiple “available at…” links listed, select the link with the required date coverage.

Example of using Check for full text button:

Example of using Check for full text link:

 

If the full text is not available, check Get it tab for more options which include:

  • Document delivery services for eligible users (sign in required)
  • physical holdings of the journal or book, if available in the Library collection.
  • a link to Search tips explaining how to search the Library collections via the Library Search.