Skip to main content

Access electronic resources: Get full text access with browser bookmarklet tool

Tools and settings for easy access to Library's electronic resources

Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

When you have discovered resources via a general search over the internet, typically you will be asked to subscribe and/or pay a fee to access the full-text content. You can use this bookmarklet to re-direct the web page to go through the Monash University Library electronic resources gateway, which will then allow you full-text access to the content. 

Note: In situations where the bookmarklet does not work, please contact the Library for other access options. Please also note that the bookmarklet does not work on mobile phones.

Desktop browsers

To create the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

Drag and drop the Access via Monash button below to your browser's bookmark bar.

Access via Monash

OR

Create the bookmarklet manually:
  1. Copy the script below:
    javascript:void(location.href='https://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url='+location.href)
  2. Create a Bookmark or Favorite by bookmarking this web page.
  3. Locate the bookmark and open it for direct editing:
    • For Chrome, click the menu button chrome-menu then select Bookmarks and click Bookmark manager

      Find the bookmark that you've just created. Click the menu icon chrome-menu next to the title and click Edit.

      Click in the URL field and replace it with the code that you copied from step 1.

      You can rename this bookmark to something more concise such as "Access full text via Monash".

      Save the changes.

    • For Firefox, click the menu button firefox-menu then click Library, Bookmarks and Show all bookmarks

      Find the bookmark that you've just created and click on it.

      Click on the Location field and and replace it with the code that you copied from step 1.

      You can rename this bookmark to something more concise such as "Access full text via Monash".

    • For Safari, click the Sidebar button safari browser sidebar button to open the bookmark sidebar and search for the bookmark you just created.

      Right click the bookmark and choose Edit Address... and replace the content with the code that you copied from step 1. Click Done to save.

      Right click the bookmark and choose Rename... and rename the bookmark to something more concise such as "Access full text via Monash". Click Done to save.

To use the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

  1. Search and discover electronic resources such as journal articles.
  2. Click the Bookmark or Favourite you just created while on the page of the article of which you would like to access its full-text. This will bring you to the Monash University Library electronic resources access gateway where you will be asked to enter your Monash computer account details.
  3. Enter your Monash account details and you should be able to access full-text via the Library's subscription.

 

Tablet devices - Chrome

To create the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

Step 1 - create a blank bookmark
  1. Open this Library Guide page on Chrome on your tablet device.
  2. Tap the menu icon chrome-menu on the top right to open the Menu.
  3. Tap the Star icon chrome-star-icon to create a bookmark.
Step 2 - edit the bookmark
  1. Copy this code: 
    javascript:void(location.href='https://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url='+location.href)

  2. Tap the menu icon chrome-menu then tap Bookmarks.

  3. Find the bookmark that you've just created. It will be titled "Get full text access with browser bookmarklet tool" and is at the bottom of your Bookmarks list.

  4. Tap the menu icon chrome-menu next to the title of the "Get full text access with browser bookmarklet tool" bookmark and tap Edit.

  5. Tap the URL field and delete the existing URL.

  6. Paste the code that you've copied from above.

  7. You can rename this bookmark to something more concise such as "Access full text via Monash".

  8. Tap the back button to save.

To use the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

If you come across an article and you are unable to access full text, try these steps:

  1. Tap the menu icon chrome-menu on the top right to open the Menu.
  2. Tap on Bookmarks.
  3. Tap on the bookmark that you've created.
  4. If Monash is subscribed to the journal or database that you are trying to access, you will be prompted to log in using your Monash account details.

Please note that you may get a warning that your connection is not secure/not private. It's fine to continue - you will have to confirm that you would like to visit the website or accept the certificate.

 

Tablet devices - Safari

To create the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

  1. Open this Library Guide page on Safari on your tablet device.

  2. Copy this code:

    javascript:void(location.href=location.protocol+'//'+location.hostname+'.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au'+location.pathname+location.search+location.hash)
    
  3. Tap the share icon safari-share-icon on the top right to open the Menu.

  4. Tap the option Add Bookmark.

  5. You can rename the bookmark to something short that you can remember e.g. "Access full text" (optional).

  6. Paste the code that you copied in step 2 in the address field.

  7. Note the Location of the bookmark e.g. a specific folder/Favorites.

  8. Tap Save.

To use the Monash EZproxy bookmarklet

If you come across an article and you are unable to access full text due to a pay wall, or if the website prompts you for an institution log in, follow these steps:

  1. Tap the book icon safari-book to the left of the address bar.
  2. Tap on Bookmarks.
  3. Find and tap on the bookmark that you created.
  4. If Monash is subscribed to the journal or database that you are trying to access, you will be prompted to log in using your Monash email address and password.

Please note that you may get a warning that your connection is not secure/not private. It's fine to continue - you will have to confirm that you would like to visit the website or accept the certificate.