Artstor (Monash Use only. Non-commercial, scholarly and educational use only for Artstor images. Public collections conditions vary. Some under Creative Commons. Different museums donate images to this database while retaining copyright. You can register to see a webinar on copyright and licensing images in this database.)
Bridgeman Education (Monash use only. Educational use with Attribution. A Monash Account is required to login. Offers over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists for educational use
British Museum online collection (Check licence terms) Many images available under the Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. licence but check each image.)
Digital Imaging Project (Educational use with Attribution. Personal archive of Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern created by academic Mary Ann Sullivan hosted by Bluffton University.)
Google Art Project (Images can be linked to but not downloaded. Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the work in a new way. Explore culture treasures in extraordinary detail.)
Met: Metropolitan museum of art New York (Images marked as "Public Domain" are free to use. Check licence terms for other images) The New York Metropolitan Museum of art makes available over 200 000 images of artworks available for reuse.
Museum of New Zealand: Te Papa Tongarewa (See the Rights statement attached to each image. Collections Online has information on over 500,000 artworks, objects and specimens from Te Papa’s collections, from dinosaur teeth to contemporary art, as well as information on people, places, topics, species, and research from our curators.)
Rijksmuseum (Images marked as "Public Domain" are free to use. Contact website for any other enquiries) National Gallery of Holland.)
Sino-Japanese War of 1894-1895: as seen in prints and archives (Images: Public Domain, Document Images: contact website. Its aim is to bring together the collection of prints of the Sino-Japanese War held by the British Library and documents made public by JACAR to show how the events of the Sino-Japanese War were depicted and recorded by the people of the time.)
Smithsonian (Public Domain) Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images - right now, without asking.
Statens Museum for Kunst (Images marked as "Public Domain" are free to use. Contact website for any other enquiries) National Gallery of Denmark.)
Walters Art Museum (Most images under Creative Commons Zero. Thousands of artworks from around the world and across the centuries. Note: Some works are not in the public domain, so please check terms for each image.)
Web Gallery of Art (For educational use only. The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from 11th to 19th centuries.)
Yale Centre for Digital Art (Public Domain. The Centre’s Paintings and Sculpture, Prints and Drawings, and Reference Library collection.)
Folger Shakespeare Library (Creative Commons: Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 License. This database offers high resolution images from the Folger Shakespeare Library, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art.)