Asian film online. Volume 1Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
People's daily - Renmin ribao (1946 - present)50 simultaneous users only
With publication started in June 1946 and a current circulation of over 3 million, the People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It has been the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China for the last 71 years. The People's Daily provides a single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.
WiseSearch/WiserLimited to one user at a time
WiseSearch has two parts: WiseNews and WiseEnterprise. 1. WiseNews, the News archive, is updated every day with items from numerous content providers, including all 18 Chinese and English newspapers of Hong Kong, and a large number of other top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Mainland China, Taiwan and some Asia Pacific countries. The database currently has more than 150 million articles dating from 1979, offering comprehensive coverage of Greater China news reports and feature articles. 2. WiseEnterprise offers information on company profiles and related news and financial data in Greater China. You can browse and search by industry, or other criteria.
FactivaFactiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
ProQuest historical newspapers. New York Times (1851-2017)Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2014. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all titles of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ).
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Washington Post (1877-2004)The Washington Post (1877-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.