Subject guides: Communications and Media: News and newspapers

Newspaper databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world.
Australia & New Zealand newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newsstream combines key national titles from Fairfax, News Ltd and ABC, with leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand.
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Access world news : research collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Contains local and national Australian news as well as international news, sourced from print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts.
Trove This link opens in a new window
Trove provides digital access to many Australian newspapers and historical archives of Australian newspapers, as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program.

See more newspaper titles in the Newspapers Library guide.

Informit Edu TV This link opens in a new window
Content includes current affairs, documentaries, reality and drama series from free to air TV channels and selected pay TV channels. Pay TV documentaries are included from The History Channel, National Geographic, NITV, BBC Knowledge and Discovery and more.
TVNews This link opens in a new window
News and Current Affairs programs from Australian broadcasters.

ABC News
Australia's most trusted source of local, national and world news. Comprehensive, independent, in-depth analysis, the latest business, sport, weather and more.
Aljazeera
News, analysis from the Middle East & worldwide, multimedia & interactives, opinions, documentaries, podcasts, long reads and broadcast schedule.
BBC News
Visit BBC News for up-to-the-minute news, breaking news, video, audio and feature stories. BBC News provides trusted World and UK news as well as local and regional reports.
CNN
View the latest news and breaking news today for U.S., world, weather, entertainment, politics and health
The Conversation
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public.
Crikey
Crikey is an independent news website featuring commentary on politics, media, business, culture and technology
Media Research Center
The Media Research Centre (MRC) is a politically conservative content analysis organization based in Reston, Virginia,
New Matilda
New Matilda is an independent Australian media outlet. The site has been covering politics, Aboriginal affairs, environment and media since 2004
360info
360 operates as a 'wire agency' supplying contextual and explanatory news features to other publishers. It is not a breaking news or commentary service.