Skip to main content

EndNote: Find full text

This software package for managing references (citations) is available free to Monash University students and staff. This guide has information about working with EndNote in the Monash University environment.

Usage Warning

Important notice:

The configurations on this page may allow the EndNote to locate and download electronic resources that Monash University Library has subscribed to. However you should be aware of the following limitations and restrictions when using this feature:

When using full text content, you as a Monash University Library user are bound by licencing agreements and copyright. Therefore you should refrain from systematically downloading large quantities of full text content using this feature. Any breach of this agreement may result in the suspension of your account.

Find full text

EndNote provide two functions that can help you obtain the full text PDFs for the references in your library:

  1. The OpenURL Link function
  2. The Find Full Text function

Using the OpenURL Link function is the most reliable. When you use this function, EndNote opens a browser window and displays a Monash University Library page with a link to download the full text PDF for your reference (if it is available).

The Find Full Text function is less reliable, but will still work in some cases. This function will attempt to retrieve a full text PDF from Monash University Library or an alternative Open Access source, without leaving EndNote. If a PDF is found, it will be automatically attached to the reference in your EndNote library.

Configuration instructions

These instructions will allow you to use both the OpenURL Link and Find Full Text functions in EndNote.

  1. Open EndNote.
  2. From the menu select Edit > Preferences
  3. From the list of preferences, select Find Full Text
  4. Tick all the boxes at the top of the window
  5. In the OpenURL Path box, enter:
    https://monash.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/openurl?institution=MUA&vid=MONUI_SP&lang=en_US&
  6. In the Authenticate with box, enter the URL:
    http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login
  7. Go back to the list of preferences and select URLS & Links
  8. In the ISI Base URL box, add http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url= to the front of the URL so it becomes
    http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url=http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi
  9. In the OpenURL Arguments box, replace ?sid=ISI:WoS with sid=ISI:endnote and keep the rest of the information. (You can copy and paste the code below.)
    sid=ISI:endnote&aulast=AULAST&issn=ISSN&atitle=ATITLE&title=TITLE&volume=VOLUME&issue=ISSUE&date=DATE&spage=SPAGE&epage=EPAGE
    Note: If you copy and paste the above text, ensure it is one continuous string of text without any line breaks.

  10. Click Apply and then OK on Windows, or Save on Mac.

EndNote is now configured to use both the OpenURL Link function and the Find Full Text function.

Please note:

The first time in a session when either feature is used, you will be prompted to enter your Monash user name and password. Following successful login, an Access denied screen may appear. This is not a problem — just click Continue or Done in the surrounding EndNote frame.

Using the OpenURL Link function to find full text PDFs

  1. Ensure you have already followed the configuration instructions above.
  2. Open EndNote, select a library (.enl) and highlight a reference
  3. From the menu, select References > URL  > OpenURL Link

  4. This will launch a browser window with the Monash University Library Search tool showing the details for the resource. Click on the database link of your choosing to be taken to a database where you can download the PDF

  5. Manually download your PDF
  6. Attach the downloaded PDF to your reference by clicking on the Reference in your EndNote library and going to References > File Attachments > Attach file.

Using the Find Full Text function to find full text PDFs

This method will retrieve full text PDFs for some, but not all, of your references. In some cases, only a URL will be retrieved, and in some cases nothing at all. The results will be improved if DOI or ISSN details are available in the reference. 

  1. Ensure you have already followed the configuration instructions above.
  2. Open EndNote, select a library (.enl) and highlight a single reference or multiple references.
  3. From the menu, select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text...
  4. In the left-hand sidebar, you will see progress underneath the Find Full Text heading
  5. If successful, the downloaded PDF will automatically be attached to your reference in EndNote, and you will see a small paperclip icon appear next to the reference in the main window.