EndNote

For any technical issues, contact Monash eSolutions

Tips for a successful installation

• When asked to choose between a Typical or Custom installation, choose Typical.

• You will be invited to sign up to EndNote Online. This is not necessary to use the main (desktop) version of EndNote. EndNote Online can be added at a later time if required.

• After installation check for any updates and install them Help > Check for updates.

Upgrading to Endnote from previous version

• First backup your library (and any customised styles, import filters and connection files), then uninstall the previous version and follow the steps above to install EndNote 20.

• Watch What's new in EndNote 20 for a quick overview of the new version.

• Note: If you are about to complete a thesis you may prefer not to upgrade, and continue with your current version of EndNote.

Mac users: EndNote is best used with Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Security settings in Safari can prevent direct export from databases.

• The library (.enl) file has an associated .data file. If you move the library, you must also move the data file.

• Regularly back up your EndNote library. Create a compressed file of your library from the File menu to automatically include the library’s .data file.

• EndNote is not compatible with cloud storage services or other synced network drives. Save your library to a local folder to avoid crashing and corruption issues.

• Only use one library.  Organise and manage your references using Groups and Group Sets. When you insert citations from multiple EndNote libraries into your Word document it can cause document corruption. However, for large, discrete projects, a separate library for each project is appropriate.

Some records may need to be edited to comply with style requirements. The good news is you can batch edit records exported from databases.

Images below show a MacOs view. If you're using EndNote for Windows, images may vary slightly.

1. Click Groups ► Create Group.

   



2. Select titles to be edited (Ctrl + Click or Shift + Click).

   



3. Click Groups ► Add References To and select preferred group

   



4. Select Library ► Change/Move/Copy Fields

   



5. Select the field and changes required.

   

EndNote includes over 6000 referencing styles ready to use. Get additional styles from EndNote's Output Style database.

AGLC

This referencing style is based on the Australian Guide to Legal Citation, 4th ed. 2018. 

• Download this style from UTS.
• Instructions and tips - Endnote for Law AGLC4 (UTS) style

Harvard 

We don’t recommend using the Harvard referencing style in EndNote.

Vancouver

The JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) style can be added to your list of referencing styles and used when you require Vancouver 2022.

1. Open EndNote and select Tools
2. Select Output styles and then New style
3. Find JAMA and add to your frequently used styles.

References

• Always use EndNote to insert and manage your citations.

• Know your referencing style. Use the EndNote Summary panel to check the accuracy and consistency of the references. You may need to manually edit the information of some fields.

• Use the Research Notes field in a record to add your comments and keep track of your ideas - these are also searchable.

Most databases allow direct export to EndNote.
The instructions below are generalised and can be used to guide you no matter what database you're using.

If you need instructions for a specific database, get help from a librarian.

General instructions

1. Select the references you want to export

2. Choose Export, Download or a similar option

3. Select the Export format: Endnote or RIS (if requested)

4. Export All Available Information

5. Click OK

6. Select Open with EndNote or Open with ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (or another similar option)

7. Check that the references have been imported into your library and are accurate

If the export saves to your downloads folder, you’ll need to open the file from within EndNote to import it into your library.

When Direct Exporting is unavailable

You can create a filter to generate a text file and manually import to EndNote:

1. Open EndNote, select File and click Import

2. Browse to the downloaded file

3. Select the filter from Import Options 

4. Click Import

• Keep your library tidy and prevent document corruption. Remove duplicate records before starting or resuming writing. Select Library > Find Duplicates.

• Always use Edit and Manage Citations to add, remove, or delete information from in-text citations.

• To cut and paste text within a document that contains formatted citations, select Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations to temporarily remove the associated code. To reformat the document, select Update Citations and Bibliography.

• Fix citation and reference errors in your document by amending the EndNote record. To update your document select Update Citations and Bibliography.

• Converting your document to a plain text copy removes the underlying EndNote code. Use this plain text copy to share with supervisors, submit to journals or to pass through plagiarism tools.

If you have separate Word documents for different chapters or sections, you can combine all citations into a single reference list.

• How to merge chapters into one document in Word