Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20: Working with databases

Guide published on 10th February 2022

Introduction

The tabs below provide step-by-step instructions for adding individual and bulk records to EndNote from some of our most popular database platforms. Read General Tips for more information on where to find instructions for your particular database, and different browsers and computer software.

Library databases and supported export methods

Exporting references to EndNote

Many databases share a common search interface or platform as part of large database collections. Examples of such collections are ProQuest, EBSCO host, OVID, EI Engineering Village and Informit. If a particular database is not showing in the above tabs, check if it is part of such a collection. If so, follow the instructions in the tab for that collection. If not, contact your librarian for advice.

The majority of databases allow records to be exported to EndNote using the direct export function, which involves selecting and sending records to EndNote as you are searching a database. The above tabs explain this procedure for different databases.

Although connection files and import filters are included in the installation of EndNote, direct export from a database via its “native” interface provides the most effective and comprehensive results and we highly recommend this method.

  • As the saying goes “rubbish in, rubbish out”. Records exported from databases to EndNote are not always perfect. After exporting, always check for any errors which may include authors transposed, unwanted capitalisation, missing DOIs, etc.
  • Variations to the included instructions (created using Windows and Google Chrome). For MAC users (Safari), and Windows users who may be using alternative browsers such as Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge or Mozilla Firefox there may find some differences in how or where files load
  • It is a good idea, when first using direct export for each database, to select the command to ‘always open RIS files with EndNote’. This will save extra steps in the future. The instructions for each database assume that this option is selected

endnote-open-files

  • Especially with bulk downloads, you may want to group the exported records within your library- see Create new groups in the EndNote 20 basics tutorial.
  • If you have further questions or a database is not listed, contact your Liaison Librarians for advice.

 

 

Direct export of records from ARTStor 

Unfortunately EndNote and ARTStor are no longer compatible, so manual entry is necessary (the EndNote basic tutorial covers manual creation of EndNote records). Alternatively, EndNote Online has a reference capture tool that works with this database.

Direct Export records from CAB Direct

The following instructions apply to the CAB Direct databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health.

Selected records

  1. Create a search in CAB Direct
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click on the Download or export selected records icon amongst the Actions
  4. In the Export Citation list pop up ‘Export to’ File
  5. Under ‘Records to Export’ select Selected records only
  6. ‘Export format’ should be RIS and choose your preferred ‘Citation format’
  7. Click on Export
  8. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: Up to 1000 records at a time.

  1. Create a search in CAB Direct
  2. Click on the Download or export selected records icon amongst the Actions
  3. In the Export Citation list pop up ‘Export to’ File
  4. Under ‘Records to export’ select Range eg 1 – 200. Nominate your range
  5. ‘Export format’ should be RIS. Choose your preferred ‘Citation format’
  6. Click on Export
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from Cochrane

The following instructions apply to Cochrane databases on the Wiley platform.

See Ovid instructions for other Cochrane databases eg. Cochrane database of systematic reviews 

  1. Create a search in Cochrane Library 
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record 
  3. Click on Export selected citation(s) 
  4. In the Export Citations pop-up, select RIS(EndNote) 
  5. Include abstract if you prefer
  6. Click Download
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: Unlimited

  1. Create a search in Cochrane Library 
  2. Select All at the top of the results list
  3. Click on Export selected citation(s) 
  4. In the Export Citations pop-up, select RIS(EndNote) 
  5. Include abstract if you prefer
  6. Download
  7. Records imported into your library are displayed in Imported References

More info

Direct export of records from EBSCOhost

  1. Create a search in one of the EBSCOhost research databases
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote by clicking the blue folder icons to the right of each record
  3. Scroll up and click the Folder icon in the toolbar at the top of the window. Your selections will display in the Folder Contents window. Select all or mark individual records to export using the check box to the left of each record
  4. Click Export. The Export Manager page displays
  5. Ensure that Direct Export in RIS format is selected. You can opt to Remove these items from folder after saving
  6. Click Save
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 25,000 records

  1. Create a search in one of the EBSCOhost research databases
  2. At the top of your search results, to the right, click Share. From the dropdown menu, under Export results: click Email a link… 
  3. Enter your e-mail address in the Email to: field, and select RIS Format
  4. Click Send
  5. A link will be sent to your email account. (It may take a few minutes to arrive)
  6. In the email, click the link to download the .ris file
  7. Double click the file to export the records into EndNote
  8. Records imported into your library are displayed in Imported References

 

Direct export of records from EI Engineering Village

The following instructions apply to the suite of EI Engineering Village research databases.

Selected records

  1. Create a search in EI Engineering Village
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. In the icons immediately above the results, click on the downward arrow next to the computer screen icon.
  4. In the Download record(s) pop up under ‘Location’ select My PC, under ‘Format’ select EndNote
  5. The RIS File name defaults to Engineering_Village (which you can change if you prefer) 
  6. Select ‘Remove selected records after download (My PC only)
  7. Click on Download record(s)
  8. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 500 records as direct export. 1000 records as a CSV file.

  1. Create a search in EI Engineering Village.
  2. Change ‘display of results per page’ from 25 to 100
  3. Click on the downward arrow to the right of the Select records icon above the results. Choose ‘Select all records on the page’ from the dropdown menu. Do this for up to 500 records (5 pages) maximum
  4. In the icons immediately above the results, click on the downward arrow next to the computer screen icon.
  5. In the Download record(s) pop up under ‘Location’ select My PC, under ‘Format’ select EndNote
  6. The RIS File name defaults to Engineering_Village (which you can change if you prefer) 
  7. Click on Download record(s)
  8. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct export of records from Emerald

  1. Create a search in Emerald insight
  2. Open a record you want to export by clicking on the article title
  3. Scroll down to the citation section and click on Download as .RIS
  4. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

A maximum of 50 records can be exported at a time (select 50 per page).

  1. To select all the records on the page, at the top of the search results, tick the box next to (50). (Alternatively, if not all 50 are required, just select them individually.)
  2.  Click Citations: download RIS, then click the resulting ris file.
  3. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Direct Export records from Factiva

Unfortunately EndNote and Factiva are no longer compatible, so manual entry is necessary (the EndNote basic tutorial covers manual creation of EndNote records). Alternatively, try another newspaper database such as Newsbank (see the Newspapers guide for more information).

Direct export of records from Gale databases

  1. Create a search in Gale Academic One File
  2. Click on the title of an individual record you wish to export to EndNote
  3. Click on the Cite icon at the top of the screen
  4. In the Citation Tools pop up, select Download RIS* 
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

There is no option to bulk export records from Gale databases. The My Folder option has been discontinued.

 

Direct export of records from Google Scholar

Ensure that you have changed your Google Scholar Settings using the menu at the top left of the window (3 horizontal lines). Under Bibliography manager, check Show links to import citations into EndNote. Click Save. Also in Settings make sure your Library links include Monash University – Check for full text. 

  1. Create a search in Google Scholar
  2. Each result should now include an Import into EndNote link which you can click to create an EndNote compatible (.ews) file
  3. The record will import into your library and displays in Imported References. (Depending on your browser settings, you may need to click on the file to import it into your library)

 

Bulk export

Maximum download: unlimited, but you need to add references to My library in Google Scholar first.

Ensure that you are logged in to your Google account. NB. All previous saved selections remain in My library unless you trash them regularly. You may want to change Results per page to 20, also under Google Scholar Settings.

  1. Create a search in Google Scholar
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote by clicking the Save link beneath each result, then the Done button in the pop-up window. You are prompted to create a Label sub-folder in My Library, but this is optional
  3. Click My library at the top right corner of the screen. This will display all your selected records
  4. Click the Export all link at the top of the screen (directly beneath the search box) and choose EndNote in the drop-down options. Click the radio button next to the required export option (all articles on the page, or all articles in My Library), then click Export
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References

More info

Alternatively, download the program Publish or Perish where you can execute the same Google Scholar search and perform bulk exports to EndNote more efficiently.

 

 

 

 

Direct export of records from Hein Online

The following instructions apply to Hein Online law databases. Exporting is limited to law reviews or law journal articles only. You may choose to create your own personal MyHein account to save bookmarks and searches, but this is not a requirement.

  1. Create a search in Hein Online
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. In the drop down menu Please select an option choose MyHein Bookmarks
  4. Click on the Save/Email option
  5. A pop up screen will appear, asking you to either Select Tag or enter a New Tag. You can enter the name of a new tag or choose an existing one. Click on Enter into Research
  6. A pop up will appear saying ‘Results have been saved under tag “x”. To view your saved bookmarks to date, click here’. Click on this hyperlink
  7. Mark the records again that you want to export
  8. In the Options drop down menu at the top of the screen select Export to Endnote (Journal Articles) then Submit
  9. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: unlimited

  1. Create a search in Hein Online
  2. Hein has an infinite scroll feature. Scroll down so that all the records you want to save are loaded - if you do not Hein will only load the first ten results, and only those results will be exported
  3. Click on the Check All button at the top of the screen
  4. In the drop down menu Please select an option choose MyHein Bookmarks
  5. Click on the Save/Email option
  6. A pop up screen will appear, asking you to either Select Tag or enter a New Tag. You can enter the name of a new tag or choose an existing one. Click on Enter into Research
  7. A pop up will appear saying ‘Results have been saved under tag “x”. To view your saved bookmarks to date, click here’. Click on this hyperlink
  8. Mark the records again that you want to export
  9. In the Options drop down menu at the top of the screen select Export to Endnote (Journal Articles) then Submit
  10. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from Informit

  1. Create a search in an Informit database
  2. Open an individual record by clicking on the title
  3. Click Export Citations, from the dropdown menu, choose EndNote, then click the download arrow icon
  4. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Currently, there is no multiple record or bulk export function. Multiple record citation export will be available in a later release.

More info

Direct Export records from JSTOR

The following instructions apply to the suite of JSTOR research databases

  1. Create a search in JSTOR
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. In the Export Selected Citations drop down menu to the right choose Export a RIS file
  4. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

At the moment, there is no ability to select citations in bulk from your search.

More info

Direct Export records from Libraries Australia

  1. Create a search in Libraries Australia
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click on the Download option above the results
  4. In the Download selected records pop up, under ‘Format’, select RIS Citation format (for use in Endnote, Zotero, RefWorks etc.). Ignore ‘Include lists of libraries that have these items’
  5. Click on Download
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 2000 records at a time

  1. Create a search in Libraries Australia
  2. Click on the checkbox at the top of your search results to the left of Record details
  3. In the Select records pop up select either First 2000 records or All records on this page (20)
  4. Click on the Download option
  5. In the Download selected records pop up, under ‘Format’, select RIS Citation format (for use in Endnote, Zotero, RefWorks etc.). Ignore ‘Include lists of libraries that have these items’
  6. Click on Download 
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from Library Search

  1. Create a search using the Library Search tool
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the numbered check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click on the ellipsis (3 dots) top right of the results list
  4. Choose EndNote Desktop (RIS)
  5. In the Encoding drop-down menu select UTF-8
  6. Click Download
  7. Records imported into your library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 50 records at a time

  1. Create a search using the Library Search tool
  2. Load More Results at the bottom of the page or use the page navigator to the right, to display 50 records
  3. At the top of the results click the check box to select 50 records
  4. Click on the ellipsis (3 dots) to the top right of the results list
  5. Choose EndNote Desktop (RIS)
  6. In the Encoding drop-down menu select UTF-8
  7. Click Download
  8. Records imported into your library are displayed in Imported References.

 

More info

Direct Export records from Newsbank

  1. Create a search in Newsbank
  2. Click on the title of the article you wish to export to EndNote. There is no option to export multiple records
  3. Click on the Cite icon
  4. In the Export Citation pop up, under Export Citation, select Endnote/Zotero
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from OCLC (WorldCat)

  1. Create a search in WorldCat
  2. Click on the title of the record you wish to export to EndNote. There is no option to export multiple records
  3. Click on the Cite/Export option
  4. In the pop up, under Export a Citation, choose Export to EndNote/Reference Manager
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Import records from OT Seeker

  1. Create a search in OT Seeker
  2. Click on Export Reference at the bottom of the record you wish to export to EndNote
  3. Save the generated text (.txt) file to your computer
  4. In Endnote select File > Import > File.... In the pop up window click Choose… and locate the .txt file you have just created
  5. Under Import Option in the Import File screen, select Reference Manager (RIS)
  6. Click on Import
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

There is currently no option to bulk export records directly from OT Seeker. Although they do provide instructions at the link below, they don't seem to work. We are currently following this up with OTSeeker.

More info

Direct export records from OVID

  1. Create a search in an Ovid database
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click Export at the top of the search results
  4. In the Export Citation(s) pop-up choose RIS as the Format (not EndNote)
  5. For Fields, choose your preferred option (Citation, Abstract recommended)
  6. Include the default links
  7. Click Export 
  8. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 1000 records at a time. In some test cases it was possible to download up to 1500.

  1. Create a search in an Ovid database
  2. Check the All box above the results list or use the Range option eg. 1-1000
  3. Click Export
  4. In the Export Citation(s) pop-up choose RIS as the Format (not EndNote)
  5. For Fields, choose your preferred option (Citation, Abstract recommended)
  6. Include the default links
  7. Click Export 
  8. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

See Outputting Search Results > Exporting Results

Direct Export records from PEDro

  1. Create a search in PEDro
  2. Select records you wish to export using the option to the right. The link will change to Selected when you click on it
  3. Display Selected Records at the top left of the search results screen
  4. Click on Save results
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: Up to 50 records at a time (in the Advanced Search screen set Return: to 50 records at a time)

  1. Create a search in PEDro
  2. Select records you wish to export using the option to the right. The link will change to Selected when you click on it. You need to click each individual record by moving to the next page at the bottom of the screen. (max. 50 records at a time)
  3. Display Selected Records at the top left of the search results screen
  4. Click on Save results
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from ProQuest

  1. Create a search in a ProQuest database
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click on the ellipsis (3 dots) top right
  4. Click on the RIS icon
  5. The Export/Save pop-up will appear. Check Deselect items when done
  6. Select Output to RIS (works with Citavi, Mendeley etc.)
  7. Select Content Citation, abstract, indexing
  8. Click Continue
  9. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 500 (recommended). In some test cases it was possible to download 1000. Also note, if you do have a My Research account with Proquest, sign in at the beginning of your session to avoid Captcha (I'm not a robot) prompts at the download stage.

  1. Create a search in a ProQuest database
  2. Change the number of items per page displayed to 100 at the bottom of the screen
  3. At the top of the results, Select 1-100 records and so on until you have 500 records selected. You will need to navigate to the next page at the bottom of the screen
  4. Click on the ellipsis (3 dots) top right
  5. Click on the RIS icon
  6. The Export/Save pop-up will appear. Check Deselect items when done
  7. Select Output to RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)
  8. Select Content Citation, abstract, indexing
  9. Click Continue
  10. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References
  11. Repeat the steps above if you have more than 500 (1000) records.

More info

Direct export records from PubMed

  1. Create a search in PubMed
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click Send to and select Citation manager from the drop-down menu. The number of citations you’ve selected will be displayed
  4. Click on Create File
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 10, 000 at a time

  1. Create a search in PubMed
  2. Click Send to and select Citation manager from the drop-down menu
  3. Change your Selection to All results
  4. Click on Create File
  5. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from SciFinder

  1. Create a search in SciFinder. Please note: To access SciFinder, Monash University staff and students must first register. Also note different instructions apply to SciFinder-n
  2. Mark individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the checkboxes to the left of each numbered record
  3. Click on the Download icon top right of the search results
  4. In the Download Reference Results popup, select Citation (.ris) as the file type
  5. Click Download
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: Unable to determine limit. It was previously 100, but tested 200 which worked fine.

  1. Create a search in SciFinder
  2. Records to be bulk exported do not need to be marked
  3. Click on the Download icon top right of the search results
  4. In the Download Reference Results popup, select Citation (.ris) as the file type and select the range of records to export eg. 101 - 300
  5. Click Download
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from Scopus

  1. Create a search in Scopus
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record
  3. Click Export at the top of the search results
  4. Select RIS Format
  5. Using the check boxes select the information you wish to export
  6. Click Export
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

For subsequent downloads, Scopus should remember your settings. So at Step 3 click RIS export at the top of the search result, then select RIS as the export type.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 2000 records maximum. See More info below for exporting up to 20 000 records (citation only)

  1. Create a search in Scopus
  2. Select All
  3. Click Export at the top of the search results
  4. Select RIS Format
  5. Using the check boxes select the information you wish to export
  6. Click Export
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References. S

More info

Direct Export records from Taylor & Francis 

  1. Create a search in Taylor & Francis Online
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record 
  3. Click Download citations (at the top of the search results)
  4. In the Download Citations pop-up choose format RIS (ProCite, Reference Manager)
  5. Click Download citations
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Option 1: Maximum download: 50 records at a time. Change the default from 10 to 50 per page top right

  1. Create a search in Taylor & Francis Online
  2. At the top of the results list check the circle next to Download citations
  3. Click Download citations
  4. In the Download Citations pop-up choose format RIS (ProCite, Reference Manager)
  5. Click Download citations
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References

Option 2: Maximum download: 2000 records. You will need to create a personal account first and make sure you are logged in. This option involves creating a .csv file that can be imported to EndNote following the instructions from Clarivate. It's quite involved. Instructions for importing files into EndNote can be found in our EndNote basic tutorial.

 

More info

Import records from Trove

  1. Create a search in Trove
  2. Click on the title of the record you wish to export to EndNote (there is no option to export multiple records in Trove)
  3. Click on Cite this
  4. Choose Endnote XML, then click Download
  5. In EndNote go to File > Import > File...
  6. Choose the .xml file from your Downloads folder and click Open
  7. In the Import Option: drop down menu, select EndNote generated XML 
  8. Click Import
  9. The record imported into your EndNote library is displayed in Imported References.

More info

Direct Export records from Web of Science 

  1. Create a search in the Web of Science Core Collection
  2. Mark the individual records you wish to export to EndNote using the check boxes to the left of each record 
  3. Click Export 
  4. Choose EndNote Desktop from the drop-down list. The number of records you’ve selected will be displayed
  5. Choose your preferred Record Content to be exported
  6. Click Export
  7. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

Bulk export

Maximum download: 1000 records at a time

  1. Create a search in the Web of Science Core Collection
  2. Click Export 
  3. Choose EndNote desktop from the drop-down list
  4. Choose the range of records to be exported eg. 1 - 688, and change the Record Content selection if required
  5. Click Export
  6. Records imported into your EndNote library are displayed in Imported References.

More info