Glossary
Artificial Intelligence: A discipline concerned with the building of computer programs that perform tasks requiring intelligence when done by humans. However, intelligent tasks for which a decision procedure is known (e.g. inverting matrices) are generally excluded, whereas perceptual tasks that might seem not to involve intelligence (e.g. seeing) are generally included.
Automated Reasoning: The use of computer programs that perform inference processes.
Biometrics: The use of unique physical characteristics (fingerprints, iris pattern etc.) to identify individuals, typically for the purposes of security
Cloud Computing: An approach to computing in which the end user connects to a remote network of computers (the cloud) in order to run programs, store data, etc. This enables users to access large amounts of data storage and computing power from anywhere in the world without having to own and maintain these resources themselves.
Data Mining: The nontrivial explication or extraction of information from data, in which the information is implicit and previously unknown; an example is identification of the pattern of use of a credit card to detect possible fraud.
Machine Learning: A branch of artificial intelligence concerned with the construction of programs that learn from experience. Learning may take many forms, ranging from learning from examples and learning by analogy to autonomous learning of concepts and learning by discovery.
Natural-Language Processing: The area of computer science that develops systems that implement natural-language understanding. It is a sub-discipline of artificial intelligence and of computational linguistics.
Robotics: A discipline overlapping artificial intelligence and mechanical engineering. It is concerned with building robots: programmable devices consisting of mechanical actuators and sensory organs that are linked to a computer.
(From the Oxford Dictionary of Computer Science and the Oxford English Dictionary)
Resources
Look for more books using Search
One subject heading used is Artificial intelligence -- Law and legislation
The Reasonable Robot Artificial Intelligence and the Law by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781108631761Publication Date: 2020
AI in Application: An in-depth examination from the legal profession by ISBN: 9781783583201Publication Date: 2018
Courts, Privacy and Data Protection in the Digital Environment by ISBN: 9781784718718Publication Date: 2017-05-26
Liability for Crimes Involving Artificial Intelligence Systems by ISBN: 9783319101248Publication Date: 2014-11-06
Research Handbook on the Law of Artificial Intelligence by ISBN: 9781786439048Publication Date: 2018-12-28
Robots in Law: How Artificial Intelligence is Transforming Legal Services by ISBN: 9781783582648Publication Date: 2016
Smart technologies and the end(s) of law : novel entanglements of law and technology by ISBN: 9781849808774Publication Date: Elgar, 2015
- Monash LENS - Artificial IntelligenceSee all stories related to Artificial Intelligence.
- TechUp Law 2017
TechUp Law is a student publication that specifically caters to law students’ understanding of digital technologies in the legal sector. - Data protection in an era of big data: The challenges posed by big personal data
Moria Paterson & Maeve Mcdonagh
Monash University Law Review
November 2018 - A Different Lens: An Automated World
Science fiction has always dreamed of a futuristic world, where computers were so advanced they could do the jobs of humans. We are now seeing that reality take shape
- Cybersecurity, Data Protection & Privacy (LexisNexis Practical Guidance)Guide to cybersecurity, data protection and privacy laws in Australia. Covers best practice for matters on data security, mandatory breach notification, transfer of data, cybersecurity strategy and privacy breaches
Reports & Conference Proceedings
- Human Rights and Technology Final ReportA new report by the Australian Human Rights Commission calls for far-reaching changes to ensure governments, companies and others safeguard human rights in the design, development and use of new technologies like artificial intelligence (AI)
- Legal Frontiers: AI to Ethics (3.98 MB, pdf)2018 LexisNexis Roadshow Report explores the current and potential future effects of Artificial Intelligence technology on the legal industry
- LexisNexis Australian Legal Tech Survey (3.48 MB, pdf)2018 legal technology survey highlights - overview and analysis
- Artificial Intelligence Primer (Parliament of Victoria Research Paper)Members of the Victorian Parliament have established an All-Party Group on Artificial Intelligence (AI) to learn more about this technology and the impacts it will have on Victorians in the future. This primer, published in March 2018, provides a basic explanation of some of the key issues surrounding AI
- ArtificiaI Intelligence: How knowledge is created, transferred, and used: Trends in China, Europe, and the United StatesBy the Elsevier Artificial Intelligence Program 12/11/2018. Provides insight into research output, collaboration and mobility for China, Europe and the United States.
- The Effective and Ethical Development of Artificial IntelligenceThis project examined the potential that artificial intelligence (AI) technologies have in enhancing Australia’s wellbeing, lifting the economy, improving environmental sustainability and creating a more equitable, inclusive and fair society.
- Disruptive technologies: Advances that will transform life, business, and the global economyMcKinsey Global Institute, May 2013
- Flip Report: The Future of Law and Innovation in the ProfessionThe Law Society of NSW 2017 report on the Commission of Inquiry into the Future of Law and Innovation in the Profession
- Human v Cloud2017 LexisNexis Roadshow Report examining how legal professionals are faring in a landscape dominated by technological disruption and what impact this has had on ways of working
- Human Rights & Technology ConferenceAustralian Human Rights Commission 2018 conference exploring the human rights implications of unprecedented technological change
- Lawyers and Robots? Conversations Around the Future of the Legal IndustryLexisNexis report collating eight recent articles discussing the role of legal technology
- The Myths, Realities and Future of Artificial Intelligence and Automation in the LawInternational Legal Technology Association Conference 2017. Three part conference series on AI in the legal profession.
- Proceedings of the International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and LawBiennially international on Artificial Intelligence and Law
1987 - present - Tech & the Law 2022 ReportThomson Reuters 2022 Report
Papers
- Artificial Intelligence Policy: A Primer and RoadmapSSRN, 19 Oct 2017, by Ryan Calo
This essay explains why AI is suddenly on everyone's mind and provides a roadmap to the major policy questions AI raises. - Current State of Automated Legal Advice ToolsNetworked Society Institute Discussion Paper
April 2018, University of Melbourne - Data and Fundamental RightsSSRN, 7 Feb 2018 , by Vanessa Mak, Eric Tjong Tjin Tai and Anna Berlee (eds), Research Handbook on Data Science and Law (Edward Elgar, 2018, Forthcoming)
This chapter provides an overview of the relationship between data and fundamental rights at the current point in time, and directions as to where and how this relationship might continue. - Guilty Robots? – Rethinking the Nature of Culpability and Legal Personhood in an Age of Artificial IntelligenceCriminal Law Forum
Monika Simmler & Nora Markwalder, December 2018 - Running with the Machines: Artificial Intelligence in the Practice of LawComputer & Internet Lawyer
Sharon Nelson and John Simek, October 2018
- Artificial Intelligence and the LawKate Lowry for the Australian Centre for Justice Innovation (Monash University, Faculty of Law) blog. July 16, 2018.
- Artificial Lawyer'New Wave' legal technology blog. Main areas of interest: AI, Legal Bots, Process Automation, Blockchain Technology and Legal Data Analysis
- Australian Legal Technology AssociationALTA provides a community to Australian legal technology companies for information sharing, collaboration and building the presence of Australian legal technology on the global stage.
- Internet Newsletter for LawyersThe Newsletter has become a community of lawyers who are interested in how to make the most of the legal internet – how it presents the law, how it widens access to the law, legal aspects of e-commerce and websites, how lawyers use the internet to market themselves and to sell legal services online and related IT issues.
- Law, Technology & Access to JusticeA blog for those interested in the use of technology to advance access to justice around the world.
- Legal Futures (UK)Legal Futures is a leading UK news resource tracking the fast-evolving legal landscape.
- Stanford Law School Blog - CodeXA blog produced by researchers, lawyers, entrepreneurs and technologists work side-by-side to advance the frontier of legal technology
- The In-House Counsel's LegalTech Buyer's Guide 20182018 edition of the In-House Counsel's LegalTech Buyers Guide. Available to download. Includes in-depth analysis of leading players in 16 categories of legal technology.
- The Legal Geek Start-Up MapA map of startups operating in the UK which are fast-growth legal technology businesses.
- USC Law Firm Technology LibGuideThis University of South Carolina Law Library guide prepares law students for practice by introducing them to technological issues facing legal practitioners
- AI and the future of law firmsThe Lawyers Weekly Show
March 2018 - Artificial Intelligence: Seven Legal QuestionsClifford Chance
January 2018 - Law and Ethics of Artificial IntelligenceFuture of Life Institute
March 2017 - Law NextRobert Ambrogi
2018 - present - Running with the Machines: Artificial Intelligence in the Practice of LawThe Digital Edge - Legal Talk Network
March 2017 - The State of AITechStuff
July 2018 - Tapping into how technology is transforming our lawsThe Lawyers Weekly Show
April 2018 - TechLaw Podcast SeriesDLA Piper
2017 - present
Watch programs
The AI Race explores how artificial intelligence will change your job as new research shows how much of what you do could be done by robots. Watch the AI Race via EduTV (Monash users only)
Artificial Intelligence and the Law Watch on BenchTV (Monash users only)
Artificial Intelligence - the Future of the Legal Profession Watch on BenchTV (Monash users only)