|
Databases |
Databases: Australian Newspapers
Australian newspapers are indexed (and may link to full text) in the following Monash and open source databases. Not all the resources are listed below, so please check the full list of databases:
- Access world news : research collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection from NewsBank is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national [Australian] and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
- Media scan (Informit) This link opens in a new window This bibliographic database indexed articles from daily newspapers, and was specifically designed for students and researchers in Australian secondary schools and universities. The following newspapers were indexed: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). Ceased updating in June 2009.
- Ryerson index to contemporary death notices and obituaries in Australian newspapers This link opens in a new window The Ryerson Index is a free index to death notices appearing in Australian newspapers. The date range covered extends from the Sydney Gazette of 1803 up to newspapers published within the last week or so. The Index also includes many funeral notices, and some probate notices and obituaries. The date ranges indexed vary from paper to paper and are not necessarily complete within that range. Most of what has been indexed is contemporary, that is, within the last 30 years. The Sydney Morning Herald is indexed from 1831.
- Trove: Digitised newspapers and more A searchable newspaper database from The National Library of Australia.
Link to: Digitised titles and its coverage
Databases: Overseas Newspapers
Overseas newspapers are indexed (and may link to fulltext) in the following Monash databases:
- Access world news : research collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection from NewsBank is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national [Australian] and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
- Maisaku This link opens in a new window Access is restricted to one concurrent user only Complete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.
- Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window Nikkei Telecom21 is Japan's largest online database on business. It provides coverage of the Japanese business and financial community through current news reports from these Japanese language newspapers: Nihon keizai shinbun, Nikkei ryūtsū shinbun MJ, Nikkei kinʼyū shinbun, Nikkei sangyō shinbun. Other resources include Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, and in English, Nikkei weekly and Nikkei major articles.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window The Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
- Russian central newspapers (UDB-COM) This link opens in a new window The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers (UDB-COM) provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database.
- Ukrainian publications (UDB-UKR) This link opens in a new window This database imcludes content from Ukraine's leading periodicals, covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs, some with archives from 1997. Titles and back issues are added on a regular basis. Publications are in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces.
- Readex - all search This link opens in a new window Readex AllSearch is a platform for effectively searching across various Readex collections. It combines digital collections and document types, including historical imprints, newspapers and government documents, providing access to: America's Historical Newspapers ; American State Papers ; Civil Rights in America; Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports ; U.S. Congressional Serial Set ; and selected Newspaper Archives.
Watch TV News
- EduTV This link opens in a new windowSee also: Informit EduTV
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
News Databases
For a complete list of all news related databases available through the library please go to:
|
Newspaper Database Tutorials |
How to read newspaper articles with a critical eye
Factiva connection troubleshooting by browser
Sometimes you might see a warning message in your browser when you try to access the Factiva database regarding the security certificate.
Select your browser from the tabs above, and follow the on-screen instructions to work around this problem.
If you are using Chrome and having trouble connecting to Factiva, follow the instructions in the images found below.
If you are using Firefox and having trouble connecting to Factiva, follow the instructions in the images found below.
If you are using Internet Explorer and having trouble connecting to Factiva, follow the instructions in the image found below.
If you are using Safari and having trouble connecting to Factiva, follow the instruction in the image found below.
If you are having trouble connecting to Factiva using Edge, follow the instructions in the image below
Factiva tutorial
Other Factiva tutorials
Access World News Tutorial
How to: Conduct a Basic Search from NewsBank