This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers  

A guide to electronic and hardcopy newspapers available at Monash University Library.
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Monash newspapers by country

Use the tabs above to find Monash Library newspaper holdings for specific countries.

Tip: if you know the title of a newspaper, then search for the title in Search. Remember to select journals under refine results in the left column of the results page (not newspaper articles).

You can also search  for newspapers by;

  • Country, e.g. France newspapers
  • City (if a metropolis), e.g. Paris newspapers
  • State (if Australian, and a few other nations), e.g. Tasmania newspapers
  • Ethnicity (if Australian ethnic press), e.g. Chinese Australians newspapers

Remember to select journals under refine results in the left column of the results page.

Also under the Details of a record click on the Subjects links to find similar items.

 

Historical Australian newspapers

Rare Books on the first floor of the Matheson Library (Clayton campus) has a rich collection of historical magazines and some newspapers.

Trove - the National Library of Australia has digitised many historical Australian newspapers that are searchable. Some titles go back to the early colonial period. None are more recent than 1955.

Locating newspapers (print or microfilm) not held by Monash University Library

To find newspapers in other libraries the following resources may be useful:

 

Welcome

Cylinder printing press, 1846, invented by Richard March Hoe (1812-86) New York.
Capable of printing 8000 sheets per hour, the first 10 cylinder printing presses were imported to England for The Times newspaper (image courtesy of Bridgeman Education)

Newspapers contain news, opinions, advertisements and other items of contemporary or historical interest. The library has a large collection of Australian and overseas newspapers, both current and historical. There are English language (Australian and international), other European language and Asian language newspapers.

To find a newspaper do a title search in Search, and select journals under refine results in the left column of the results page (not newspaper articles).
To research a topic in a newspaper, you will need to consult an index, or search the full text of the newspaper in electronic format (if available). Monash University Library subscribes to several databases that give access to the full text of many Australian and overseas newspapers. 

 

Where to find newspapers

Newspapers are available in all Monash University branch libaries. Ask at the Information point to find out where.

Recent issues will be available in the original print edition. Older issues may possibly be available in print, but more typically will be reproduced on microfilm. Monash databases provide many recent and older issues in fulltext.

Older issues in print will be in storage and you will need to ask at the Information Desk for a form to request access to specific issues.

Indexes to Australian Newspapers

Australian newspapers are indexed (and may link to fulltext) in the following Monash and open source databases:

  • APAIS : Australian public affairs information service.  
      
    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present.
  • Factiva  
      
    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, including The Australian Financial Review and BRW, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
  • Libraries Australia
  • Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world.  
      
    Archive only - not updated after 2010
  • NewsBank  
      
  • Ryerson Index  
      
    Obituaries
  • Trove digitised newspapers
    Historical newspapers (searchable)

Indexes to Overseas Newspapers

Overseas newspapers are indexed (and may link to fulltext) in the following Monash databases:

  • British humanities index : BHI.  
      
    "An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subjects covered include: Archaeology, Current Affairs, Education, Economics, Environment, Gender Studies, History, Law, Political Science and Religion."--Publisher description.
  • Factiva  
      
    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, including The Australian Financial Review and BRW, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
  • ProQuest  
      
    Historical newspapers
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip