Subject guides: Copyright free and Creative Commons resources: Music and Sound Effects

Music

Beatpix (For student non-commercial use only. For students, choose 'non-commercial, non-profit organisations and students')
Bensound Dubstep creative commons music (Some music also available for purchase so check licence terms)
Bump Foot (Bump Foot is a non-profit netlabel in Japan. Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike)
ccMixter (Creative Commons Music, check licence terms)
Digital History (Purely for educational, non-commercial use)
Free Music Archive (All tracks free to listen to, reuse depends on licence terms, check individual song)
Free PD (All tracks Creative Commons zero, no attribution required)
Free Sound Project (Collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds)
Incompetech by Kevin McCloud (All tracks appear to be creative commons, follow licence terms)
Jamendo (Free music downloads and streaming. Check the Creative Commons License that accompanies each track)
Josh Woodward (Free music released under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.)
Mixkit (Free music licensed under the Mixkit Music licence which allows for commercial use)
Mobygratis (Selected tracks made available by the artist for student and non-commercial film makers to use)
Musopen (Public domain music. Can upload sound files and print public domain sheet music)
Netlabels collection at the Internet archive (Non-commercial use only)
Opsound - Free Music Archive (Check licence terms, Creative commons share-alike.)
Partners in Rhyme (Some tracks for sale, so check licence terms. Must include a link on your website or blog, a credit in your Youtube video, or an email saying "Thanks!".)
PublicDomain 4U (A collection of public domain music sourced from around the internet)
Ragtime piano rolls (Sheet music and sound files from early 1900s including Scott Joplin)
Royalty Free Music Soundtracks (Some tracks for sale, only use tracks labeled 'free'. You must credit the Composer OR Producer of the track and the website)
Silverman Sound Studios (Must credit the composer. Music licensed under Creative Commons 4.0)
Wikimedia Commons (Some audio files, check individual licence terms)
Wikipedia:Sound/List (Distribution page for musical works available on Wikipedia or Wikimedia Commons, check licence terms)
Digital Content Guide - Music (For a list of legitimate online music sources some of which allow free previews and samples)
National Jukebox (US Library of Congress streamed historical recordings, made available for listening only)
YouTube Audio Library (Can select tracks to use in YouTube videos) Youtube Audiolibrary alternative link. See using YouTube Audio Library for how to sign up and get access to more music.

Sound Effects

55 Great Websites To Download Free Sound Effects (Kay Tan, "55 Great Websites To Download Free Sound
Effects", Honghiat, accessed Feburary 6th, 2017. Some variation in usage rights. Check licence terms.)
BBC Sound Effects (Available under the RemArc licence. For non-commercial, personal or research purposes or for formal education purposes while you are a student or member of staff at a school, college or university)
Freesound (Aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse. For more information on licensing and attribution see the help page.)
PacDVD (Royalty free sound effects and some music tracks for use in video, film, audio and multimedia productions only.
Must link back to the website or mention "Music by www.pacdv.com/sounds/" in your credits.)
Partners in Rhyme (Royalty free music loops in Wav format. Suitable for use in YouTube videos and student projects. Requires giving Partners In Rhyme a link on your website or blog, a credit in your Youtube video or an email saying "Thanks!".)

Sheet Music and Scores

IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library (Extensive user curated library of public domain music. NOTE: Some music may still be in copyright in Australia as this is a Canadian site with different copyright duration laws.)
Morgan Library and Museum: Music manuscript collection online (Low resolution images of out of copyright music.)
Musopen (Can upload sound files and print public domain sheet music.)
Mutopia Project (Another user curated library of public domain music. May be better typeset so easier to read.)
Open Music Library (Some public domain scores and other music info curated by Alexander Street Press.)
Sheet Music Consortium (List of links to libraries with sheet music available online.
Free Sheet Music Resources (List of websites with free sheet music by subject matter.)