Copyright free and Creative Commons resources: Open Courseware

For information about searching for & using open content see the International Open Educational Resources (OER) Toolkits and guide list.

• Commercial platforms that utilise OER - spreadsheet of assessment of these platforms
• Cool4Ed’s Course Showcase, (the Faculty Showcase tab also has useful information for other instructors)
• Global Text Project Free courses
• Connexions (Educational content from Rice University US)
• Learning Space (UK Open University - refer to terms)
• Lumen Learning (Some paid content, check licence terms)
• Merlot (California state online education resources, some paid content, check licence terms)
• MIT Open Courseware
• National Digital Learning Resources (Irish repository)
• Open Courseware Consortium (Mostly US)
• OpenCoursewareSearch (10 universities worldwide open content)
• Open Educational Resources Commons
• OER by Discipline guide (McMaster University, Canada) - curated lists of good OER resources by discipline
• OER Enabled Pedagogy (Open Education Group)
• Open Learning Initiative (Carnegie Mellon)
• Open Oregon (Community college and university open resources used in US state of Oregon)
• OPENPediatrics (Educational resources for children's medicine Creative Commons 4.0)
• Open Pedagogy Notebook
• OpenStax Tech Scout (Tool to search OER sites for the best option for your course)
• p2pu (Open education project)
• Saylor Academy (US based open course content)
• WikiEducator: Exemplary Collection of Open eLearning Content Repositories

• Unpaywall and Core Discovery are browser extensions for Firefox and Chrome. They add a green tab beside free to read research articles.

• The Open Access Button will search across the web for a freely accessible full-text version of an article and if not found will send an email to the author asking them to provide a copy

• OASIS Open access search will search across 113 different sources. Search widget code at https://oasis.geneseo.edu/about.php

• Mason OER metafinder searches 23 sources, including HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, and the Digital Public Library of America.)

• DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

• For a list of Open Access Journals with an Australian publisher view here 

• The OAPEN Library is a central repository for hosting OA books.

• The Directory of Open Access Books is a discovery service for OA books. 

• OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. 

• A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with Students (Rebus Community) 

• Open Pedagogy Approaches: Faculty, Library, and Student Collaborations (Milne Library) 

• Open Pedagogy: Learn, Create, Share (Idaho State University)

• Open Pedagogy in the Trades (BCcampus)

• UN Sustainable Development Goals Open Pedagogy Fellowship (Montgomery College)