It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users access to authoritative and easily searchable online art resources. Through this single gateway, users can access and cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Reference Works for Art, Design and Architecture Theory
Click on the title link to see the library catalogue record for the books below (and then click the locations tab to see the call number).
This interdisciplinary guide to the cutting edge art movements include hundreds of new entries in all areas of the arts. It covers every influential avant-garde movement and style, such as abstract expressionism, bauhaus, bebop, free jazz, futurism, performance art, and surrealism.
From rock art to Australian modernism, from bark paintings to the Heidelberg School, this book provides a wide-ranging overview of the movements, themes and media found in Australian art. This companion features essays that explore the influence of different cultures on Australian art, by leading scholars and professionals working in the field.
Behind the iconic images of Australian homesteads, beach houses and the billowing sails of the Sydney Opera House lies a rich and enthralling history of how Australians have responded to natural and urban environments, and in turn shaped Australian culture and society. The Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture is the first major work of reference to be published on Australian architecture. This magnificent book documents and analyses Australian architecture and architects from indigenous beginnings to colonial, modern and contemporary eras.