Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grey Literature: Grey Sources

Grey sources to discover

Australian

Agency for Clinical Innovation: Innovation Exchange
ACI is an information and networking service for Australian health professionals which aims to support and increase the implementation of effective innovations in clinical care across healthcare settings.

Australia Bureau of Statistics

Australia's official national statistical agency, provides a high quality, objective and responsive statistical service with information and resources on a range of topics.

Australia.gov.au

Australian Council for the Arts

Government website with research and data on arts in Australia.

RAND Publication Database

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
The AIHW is the national agency providing reliable, regular and relevant information and statistics on Australia's health and welfare

Australian National Data Service
This site allows Australian researchers to reuse research data. It provides national services such as Research Data Australia and is building the Australian Research Data Commons; promoting partnerships and resources to enable researchers to share data collections

AustralianPolicyOnline

APO specialises in grey literature and provides access to a range of research reports, working papers, discussion papers and statistics for effective public policy debate, decision making and implementation

Closing the Gap Clearinghouse
The AIHW and Australian Institute of Family Studies clearinghouse provides evidence-based research on overcoming disadvantage for Indigenous Australians

data.gov.au

IP Australia
Produced by the Australian government this site provides access to searchable patent, trademark and design databases

PANDORA Archive

Australia's Web Archive

Parliament of Australia

Trove ( National Library Australia)

Trove provides a free search service/repository of Australian material including digital theses, digitised magazines and newspapers

International

Archaeology Data Services

The ADS Library brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports as well as documents from the ADS archives and archaeological publishers such as Oxbow.

AGRIS

 A global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology.

Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI)

British Library

Reports, conferences and theses can be searched through the British Library Integrated Catalogue

Google Custom Search: Think Tanks

Google Custom Search: Non-Governmental Organizations

Open Grey 
(note: 25 years of content up to 2018)

A multidisciplinary database that has material from a range of European sites with documents such as research reports, conference papers, dissertations and other types of grey literature covering science, biomedical science, social science and humanities

Science.gov

Gateway to selected science information provided by the US government agencies. Includes research and development results.

PWC Global

One of the worlds leading professional services networks that assists organisations and individuals across the globe. Covering a broad range of disciplines, PWC aims to provide reports and advice in order to deliver quality.

PAIS

PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.

PolicyArchive

PolicyArchive is a free database which contains the largest archive of policy documents in the USA.

UNdata

UNESCO

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Australasian Open Access Repositories

Maintained by the Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG)

EThOS (UK)

The British Libraries Electronic Thesis Online Service provides open access to UK theses in a rage of disciplines. Where immediate dowload is not possible EthOS can arrange delivery of full text.

Monash University theses

Online repository for all Monash university theses

NDLTD

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations supports electronic publishing and open access to international theses and dissertations to enhance sharing of knowledge.

WorldCat

World's largest network of Library content. Under the Content type menu, select "Theses/dissertations".

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR is a directory of open access academic repositories. It is a useful tool to search university institutional repositories worldwide for theses. 

OpenThesis

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Dissertation and Theses Dissemination and Ordering provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses. While an international source, many of the available materials are from the US.

Theses Canada

Theses Canada aims to acquire and preserve a collection of Canadian Theses to provide access to this research around the world.

Many organisations, associations and professional groups hold conferences which they make available online. Useful sites to search include;

All Academic site

Full text of papers delivered at academic conferences which used the company's software.

All conferences.com

A directory of conferences from around the world.

Informit collections

  • Conference proceedings, technical reports
  • Can select specific subject areas or databases

PhPartners conferences and meetings

 A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries

ProQuest
Conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, reports

For presentation slides. Particularly useful for finding conference presentations

Scopus
Conference proceedings, technical reports

Web of Science

with conference proceedings

Australia New Zealand clinical trials register

The Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR) is an online register of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia, New Zealand and elsewhere. The ANZCTR includes trials from the full spectrum of therapeutic areas of pharmaceuticals, surgical procedures, preventive measures, lifestyle, devices, treatment and rehabilitation strategies and complementary therapies.

Clinical practice guidelines portal (Australia)

ClinicalTrials.gov

World Health Organization (WHO) International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
 

The Australian Web Archive includes content from the following collections. All content is accessible through a single search service through Trove. Content can be searched by website URL or by keywords and phrases.

  • The PANDORA Archive
  • The Australian Government Web Archive (AGWA)
  • Archive-It. Since 2007 the National Library of Australia, in partnership with the Internet Archive, has been selecting, collecting and archiving copies of Asia/Pacific websites.
  • Whole Australian (.au) domain collection

PAIS International
Various material relevant to public policy, including government reports

ProQuest
Conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, reports

Scopus
Conference proceedings, technical reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library
US government reports, mostly pre-1976.

Subject area resources

The "Primary sources in the Humanities" guide can help you find many sources of grey literature relevant to Arts and Humanities, e.g. historical government reports and personal narratives.

The "Government publications" guide may also be helpful for locating government documents.

Archives:

Other sites:

Statistics:

Other information:

  • See the companies and industries guide for help finding many other types of financial and business information.
  • Material relating to a specific company or organisation (e.g. annual reports) may also be available through the company or organisation website.

General medical / health resources:

Databases, directories, newsletters:

Australian government sites:

Other websites:

Discipline-specific resources:

Family medicine:

Indigenous health:

Nursing and midwifery:

Nutrition and dietetics:

Paramedicine:

Rural and remote health:

Aims to improve the health of Australians living in rural and remote areas. Provides links to publications including position papers and research.

Represents allied health professionals working in rural and remote areas. Includes literature and reports.

Social work:

General Science databases, directories, newsletters:

Geosciences:

Environmental Sciences     (incl. Sustainability):

Atmospheric Sciences:

Geographical Sciences    (incl. Physical Geography):

See the Map Collection guide for maps and geospatial data.