Major databases
Scopus
Scopus indexes scholarly literature on environmental sustainability and related fields. In includes articles, conference papers, book chapters and more.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a comprehensive source of academic literature on the topic of environmental sustainability, including major research domains in Science Technology and Social Sciences.
Proquest
ProQuest provides a large number of resources on environmental sustainability including; scholarly journals, newspapers, trade journals, books and more.
Specialisations
Additional resources
- Australian public affairs : full text (Informit) This link opens in a new windowSources on Australia, politics, environment and social issues.
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFocus on business & economics. Additional content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Market information
- IBIS WorldDetailed analyses of all 500 Australian industries are available. The reports cover major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles.
Additional resources
- Environmental abstracts (Informit) This link opens in a new windowEVA (formerly EPIC), is produced by the EPA Victoria Library, Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control.
Additional resources
- CAB Direct This link opens in a new windowExtensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, incorporating Environmental Impact.
- Web of science core collection This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary database covering over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
Additional resources
In addition to the larger databases above, have a look at the databases listed on the International Development Library guide
- MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowMarketLine Advantage is a collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across every major marketplace worldwide.
Additional resources
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFocus on business & economics. Additional content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Other databases
Here are some other databases which are relevant to research in Environment & Sustainability.
- Access world news : research collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national [Australian] and international level.
- Browzine This link opens in a new windowContains thousands of scholarly journals covering all disciplines including earth and environmental sciences.
- Dimensions This link opens in a new windowLinked research information system providing access to over 128 million publications, grants, policy, data and metrics. Allows for the analysis of the academic and broader outcomes of research. Developed in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAustralian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world.
- Hathi Trust digital library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of digitised books and other materials from academic libraries and research institutions.
- Informit search This link opens in a new windowIncludes 22 collections of scientific literature with a focus on Australia. Includes EVA: environmental abstracts (to 2011), MEDGE: management and environment information (to 2006), and STREAMLINE: Australia's natural resources database (to 2004).
- JSTOR sustainability collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes key journals and open research reports from leading research institutes worldwide. It features over 100 journals new to JSTOR, and over 5,000 open research reports. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, across more than 30 disciplines.
- SDG online This link opens in a new windowSustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection themed around the SDGs. The collection was created in partnership with United Nations.
- Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of peer-reviewed journals including WATERnetBASE content about advancing new directions in water science and engineering.
- Trove This link opens in a new windowFocused on Australia and Australians. Trove provides location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries and more.