Subject guides: Film and screen studies: Still images

Using images

Most images (unless very old) are protected by copyright.
So while use in research, study and teaching may be ok, other uses may require permission.
Images should always have full citation details (see moral rights).

Film and Screen copyright information
Digital Images library guide
information on finding and using digital images

Searching for images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor covers a range of time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) This link opens in a new window
VADS access to image databases in the United Kingdom, including the Imperial War Museum, London College of Fashion, National Education Archive and The Design Council Archive.
Bridgeman education This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of over 300,000 art images. Includes quality images and metadata as well as legal rights information.

Artchive
Galleries, art links, theory and criticism.
Artcyclopedia
Online searchable art encyclopedia.
Art History
List of links to image resources.
ArtSource Image Collections
List of links curated by Interactive Learning Paradigms Incorporated.
Flickr
A photosharing website. Upload images, or search those of other people
FlickrStorm
A third-party search site for Flickr (creative commons images site).
Getty Images
Contemporary photography images. Download plug-in for greater range of services.
Image Collections and Online Art
Part of the University of Michigan's Mother of all Art History site.
Trove
Online Australian image collections.
V&A Images
Victoria and Albert Museum images

Acclaim Images
Stock photography.
Art Resource
"World's largest fine art stock photo archive, licensing authorized images to all media" (you will need to register your email for access).
ArtServe
Australian National University collection of art / architecture images, mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan and India.
British Library flickr
Explore The British Library's 1000000+ photos on Flickr.
CalPhotos
University of California site with images of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes.
Fairfax Photos (payment required)
Order photos from Fairfax newspapers for home or professional use (payment required).
Fotosearch
Gateway of image libraries. Cost associated.
PictureAustralia
searchable database of images of Australiana
Scholars Resource
Digital images and slides, art history, museum artefacts.
State Library of Victoria's image pool
Dive in and see the story of Victoria's history brought to life in almost 200,000 (and growing) amazing historical images. All images in this search pool are out of copyright or available to be used.
State Library of Victoria Pictures
State Library of Victoria, photographs, prints, drawings from the Picture Collection.