News: Understanding the agenda
Below is a small selections of books available in the library that discuss (non-) objectivity in media and journalism. Keep in mind that you will have to critically read and make your own judgment on the issues discussed in this resources.
Global News : Reporting Conflicts and Cosmopolitanism by Call Number: Clayton - Matheson Call no:303.6 R649G 2015ISBN: 9781433124242Publication Date: 2015
Journalism and Meaning-Making by Call Number: Clayton - Matheson Call no:070.4 R945J 2010ISBN: 9781572739383Publication Date: 2010
Can You Trust the Media? by Call Number: Caulfield Call no:302.230941 M737C 2008, Clayton - Matheson Call no:302.230941 M737C 2008ISBN: 9781840468724Publication Date: 2008
Language and bias in specialized discourse by Call Number: Clayton - Matheson Call no:306.44 G245L 2008ISBN: 9788860011787Publication Date: 2008
The thinker's guide for conscientious citizens on how to detect media bias & propaganda in national and world news by Call Number: Clayton - Hargrave-Andrew Call no:302.23 P324T 2008ISBN: 0944583202Publication Date: 2008
News
Use the Library Guide for Newspapers to find more information about the Library's resources:
While you can find and access news on the web, some news outlets will have paywalls and might offer limited search functions. Newspaper databases will allow you to access and search through all major national and international news outlets, giving you access to full-text articles and advanced functionality.
Below are the two major newspaper databases made available through the Library:
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
- Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window See: Access world news : research collection
Background Information on news media
- Communication & mass media complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create an authoritative research and reference resource in the communication discipline. CMMC offers core indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 journals, and selected priority coverage of nearly 200 more. There is full text coverage for over half of these journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, it also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business & economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
You can find other relevant databases for your research through Library Search or some of our other Library Guides:
Discourse, Politics and Media in Contemporary China by ISBN: 9789027270368Publication Date: 2014available as eBook
Changing Media, Changing China by Call Number: Caulfield Call no:302.230951 S558C 2011, Clayton - Matheson Call no:302.230951 S558C 2011ISBN: 9780199751976Publication Date: 2011also available as eBook
The Party Line : how the media dictates public opinion in modern China by ISBN: 9780470828557Publication Date: 2012available as eBook
This is a small selection of available resources on this topic. Use Library Search to find more books and scholarly articles on Chinese media and journalism.
Assignment 2: Research Essay
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, it also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business & economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Communication & mass media complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create an authoritative research and reference resource in the communication discipline. CMMC offers core indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 journals, and selected priority coverage of nearly 200 more. There is full text coverage for over half of these journals.
You can find other relevant databases for your research through Library Search or some of our other Library Guides:
- EduTV This link opens in a new windowSee also: Informit EduTV
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only. - Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
This is a small selection of available resources on this topic. Use Library Search to find more books and scholarly articles globalisation.
|
|
Tip! Remember that Globalisation is more often spelt 'Globalization' when conducting your searches as a majority of databases originate in the U.S.A |
A note on bias
- International Encyclopedia of Communication: Bias in the news
- Definitions and dimensions of bias
- Possible reasons behind a perceived bias
- Structural factors behind media biases