With the exception of grey literature sources (which will likely require a very simplified search), it is important to run the same search strategy in all databases. The search syntax and search operators will need to be adapted however to fit each database that you use. The elements that commonly need to be modified are:
Subject headings
Subject headings may differ across databases even when the databases are on the same platform. Always look for equivalent subject headings and see whether they need to be exploded in the specific database that you are using. See example below showing the different subject headings for the term "heart attack":
| DATABASE | SUBJECT HEADING TREE | TERM MAPPED - Heart Attack |
| MEDLINE (Ovid) | MeSH | Myocardial Infarction/ |
| EMBASE (Ovid) | EMTREE | Heart Infarction/ |
| PSYCINFO (Ovid) | American Psychological Association (APA) | Heart Disorders/ |
Search operators
The asterisk symbol for truncation is universal across most scholarly databases. Wildcards and proximity operators however will differ across platforms, as will the need for double quotes for phrase searching. Use the tips sheet below to see the correct operator when translating your searches.
Database search tips - reference guide
Search fields
Field codes may search different fields in different databases, even when the field code is the same. See the example below of differing coverage of the textword [.tw.] field in Ovid databases, and the differing availability of the author supplied keywords [.kf.] field:
| Commonly used search fields in Ovid databases | ||||
| DATABASE | Title | Abstract | Author supplied keyword | Textword |
| MEDLINE | .ti | .ab | .kf | .tw (includes title and abstract) |
| EMBASE | .ti | .ab | .kf | .tw (includes title, abstract, and drug trade name) |
| EMCARE | .ti | .ab | .kf | Not available |
| PSCYINFO | .ti | .ab | Not available | .tw (includes title, abstract, table of contents, and key concepts) |
Search filters
Search filters often incorporate subject heading searches, proximity operators and field code searches. For this reason they will need to be created/translated for each individual database.
See below an example of an RCT filter for Medline and see how it differs to an RCT filter for Embase:
| OVID MEDLINE - RCT Filter | OVID EMBASE - RCT Filter |
| Randomized controlled trials as Topic/ Randomized controlled trial/ Random allocation/ Double blind method/ Single blind method/ Clinical trial/ Exp Clinical Trials as Topic/ Or/1-7 (clinic$ adj trial$1).tw. ((singl$ or doubl$ or treb$ or tripl$) adj (blind$3 or mask$3)).tw. Placebos/ Placebo$.tw. Randomly allocated.tw. (allocated adj2 random).tw. Or/9-14 8 or 15 Case report.tw. Letter/ Historical article/ Review of reported cases.pt. Review, multicase.pt. Or/17-21 16 not 22 |
Clinical trial/ Randomized controlled trial/ Randomization/ Single blind procedure/ Double blind procedure/ Crossover procedure/ Placebo/ Randomi?ed controlled trial$.tw. Rct.tw. Random allocation.tw. Randomly allocated.tw. Allocated randomly.tw. (allocated adj2 random).tw. Single blind$.tw. Double blind$.tw. ((treble or triple) adj (blind$)).tw. Placebo$.tw. Prospective study/ Or/1-18 Case study/ Case report.tw. Abstract report/ or letter/ Or/20-22 19 not 23 |
|
Source: https://tools.ovid.com/ovidtools/expertsearches.html |
|
In this search translation example, highlighted in red, the terms have been mapped to the appropriate subject headings for each database and exploded where relevant, the proximity operators adjusted, and the field searching adapted as required.
| Medline (OVID) | Embase (OVID) |
| 1 exp Dietary Proteins/ | 1 protein intake/ |
| 2 (protein* adj3 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*)).ti,ab,kf. | 2 (protein* adj3 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*)).ti,ab,kf. |
| 3 1 OR 2 | 3 1 OR 2 |
| CINAHL Plus (EBSCOhost) | SportDISCUS (EBSCOhost) |
| S1 (MH "Diet, High Protein") | S1 DE "LOW protein diet" |
| S2 (MH "Dietary Proteins+") | S2 DE "HIGH protein diet" OR DE "FOOD--Protein content" |
| S3 TI ( protein N2 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*) ) OR AB ( protein N2 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*) ) | S3 TI ( protein N2 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*) ) OR AB ( protein N2 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*) ) OR KW ( protein N2 (diet* or supplement* or intake* or consum* or ingest*) ) |
| S4 S1 OR S2 OR S3 | S4 S1 OR S2 OR S3 |