Searching a single database is inadequate and will find an unrepresentative set of studies. Create and test your search strategy in a core database, then move on to running it in other databases or sources you've selected as suitable for your review.
Which databases should I use?
Three bibliographic databases considered important for Cochrane systematic reviews (and other health intervention reviews) are Ovid Medline, EMBASE and Cochrane CENTRAL.
If there are subject-specific databases relevant to the topic of the review, these will typically be included. Some examples include CINAHL Complete or Ovid Emcare for nursing/allied health, PsycInfo for psychological sciences, and PEDro or AMED or SPORTDiscus for physiotherapy.
Researchers often supplement these with multidisciplinary sources or citation databases such as Scopus or the Web of Science Core Collection.
A list of databases available to Monash researchers can be found at the Databases by subject page.
Search Smart is a free online guide to researchers best search options
| Tip: It is important to be mindful of diversity of populations when conducting secondary research, as much published research is not representative of all peoples. For example, you might choose to include regional sources or databases that include peer reviewed literature from developing countries. |
Use Monash Okta to link through to the database class recordings. Recordings will open in a new screen
Database syntax may vary across database platforms.
Use the printable PDF tips sheet below to ensure that you select the correct operator for the database that you are using.
It is important to keep good records of your final searches in each database for transparency and reproducibility of your work. Systematic reviews generally utilise a PRISMA flow diagram for reporting the number of papers retrieved from each source before and after screening. This requires you to save the necessary information as you progress through your review, in order to fulfill the reporting requirements.
One method is to save copies of your search histories within each database. To do this you generally need to set up a free personal account in each relevant database - look for a link at the top of the main search page. Alternatively, you may choose to create a spreadsheet or search diary to record the details of your searches.
Managing your results is key in the systematic review process. The EndNote guide covers downloading the software (free for students and staff), the basics and training, including the bulk export of records for systematic reviews. General EndNote questions are answered via the Meet with a librarian service.
You may choose to use alternative reference management tools like Zotero or Mendeley, or be more comfortable using Excel, but we don't offer extensive support for these tools.