Subject guides: Translation and Interpreting Studies: Databases

Key databases from Monash University Library

Translation studies bibliography This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
MLA international bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window

Non-English databases from Monash University Library

CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) This link opens in a new window CiNii is a database service that offers access to academic papers mainly published in Japan in Japanese, with some content in English. The database contents includes academic journals, university research bulletins, and National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database, etc. Reference and citation information, and full text for some papers, are available.
DBpia : electronic journal service. This link opens in a new window Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.
KISS : Han'guk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon. This link opens in a new window Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles from over 5,000 journals, covering all subject areas.
Kyobo scholar This link opens in a new window Kyobo scholar is a scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals published by prominent academic societies and research centers in Korea. The journal titles are arranged by 10 subject categories; Humanities; Linguistics, Social Sciences; Business & Management; Law; Arts & Physical Education; Natural sciences; Engineering; Medicine; and Agricultural Sciences.
Loeb classical library This link opens in a new window The digital Loeb Classical Library through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, the entire classical heritage is represented here. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in an accessible interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. Every Loeb volume in print is included and new and revised volumes are regularly uploaded.
Maisaku This link opens in a new window Access is restricted to one concurrent user only Complete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.
RISS international This link opens in a new window The RISS International database allows users to access the full text of articles from journals published by Korean scholarly associations and university research institutes, access the full text of theses and dissertations from over 200 Korean universities, and search books and audio visual materials in nearly 800 Korean university and college libraries, and in professional libraries. It also provides a union catalogue of Korean university libraries.
Web magazineplus This link opens in a new window See: MagazinePlus

Other databases

English databases outside Monash

Trove : one search ... a wealth of information, the National Library of Australia
Library of Congress Online Catalogs
WorldCat

Non-English databases

For databases that include translation or interpreting studies articles in specific subject/language areas.

Library Guides - Select the Library Guide for your subject area and look for databases tab.

Database searching - with a sample topic

Sample Topic: What impact has the internet had on freelance translators?

What are the key concepts of the topic?
(1) internet (2) freelance translators (3) impact

Are there alternative terms which may also describe the topic?
(1) world wide web, online, electronic (2) language contractors, interpreters (3) effect

Construct the search into a logical structure to ensure you retrieve relevant results. For example:

(internet OR world wide web OR online OR electronic)

AND (translators OR interpreters OR language contractors)

AND (impact OR effect)

All synonyms joined by "OR"; all concepts joined by "AND"

Other tips:

Consider American spelling,
Singular/Plurals : translator
Wildcard and truncation symbols in Databases which save typing in all variations of words, for example:
translat* (for translator; translators; translation; translate)
Too many search results?
Reduce by narrowing the topic; could introduce 'machine translation' as a topic