Subject guides: Wound care: Articles in databases

What are library databases?

A library database can be thought of as a container listing millions of records of scholarly content. They provide an efficient way to find scholarly journal articles (along with other information types such as theses, newspaper articles and conference papers) on your desired subject.

A database can be either subject specific or multidisciplinary in nature. Some provide full text access, whilst others only provide citation and abstract details. With the latter you can use the 'full text' button which will lead you to the full text if the library has a subscription to the journal in question.

There are many databases that you could potentially make use of whilst studying at Monash. For a full list refer to our Databases A-Z listing.

Below, we have included some of the main databases you are most likely to use in Wound care.

Remember, if you are stuck or need any assistance, contact your friendly resident librarians.

Recommended databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL Complete includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database. Underlying Emcare's precise indexing is the Emtree thesaurus, and Ovid offers multiple tools to take advantage of this indexing.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

BMJ best practice This link opens in a new window Users need to create a personal account Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
DynaMed plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window From the DMP interface, users can register for remote access. Once the app is downloaded users can authenticate the app using the link they were sent when they registered. DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals. It contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, and other health care professionals. The new DynaMed Plus version has greater scope and functionality with overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to ensure currency.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Monash University staff and students This resource is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support database designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes; links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and to a number of medical calculators. It is written, reviewed and continuously updated by physicians to ensure that the content remains current.

AusDI This link opens in a new window AusDI (formerly Catalyst) database provides quick and easy access to the popular AusDi Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information, consumer medicine information leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module and convenient links to drug interaction systems, of interest to Australian pharmacists and other health care professionals.
Australian medicines handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new window Australian Medicines Handbook's mission is to provide concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. The company is independent of both government and the pharmaceutical industry.
Therapeutic guidelines This link opens in a new window If you have previously used the eTG app, please use this link to renew your token: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://www.tg.org.au/tokens/ Therapeutic guidelines includes the latest version of all the topics published by Therapeutics Guidelines Limited. It provides access to therapeutic guidelines with instructions for therapy and practical treatment advice. Access to relevant PBS data including pregnancy and breastfeeding information ; Links to key references, full text articles and relevant Cochrane Library Reviews ; Links to other independent information ; Australian Prescriber (including Medicines Safety Update), NPS RADAR, NPS News and Clinical Evidence ; technical enhancements such as calculators for creatinine clearance and ideal body weight.

Advances in skin and wound care A peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal, Advances in Skin & Wound Care is highly regarded for its unique balance of cutting-edge original research and practical clinical management articles on wounds and other problems of skin integrity. Each issue features CME/CE for physicians and nurses, the first journal in the field to regularly offer continuing education for both disciplines.
Advances in wound care The critical, peer-reviewed forum for the field of tissue injury and repair, with an emphasis on acute and chronic wounds, and wound care applications for burns, major trauma, blast injuries, surgery, and diabetic ulcers. (Advances in wound care is the earlier version of Advances in skin & wound care).
International wound journal The International Wound Journal is uniquely placed to help improve the standards of care for patients and of professional practice internationally. It covers all aspects of prevention and treatment of wounds and associated skin conditions. By publishing the most clinically relevant and focused research, of the highest standard, within a peer-review process, International Wound Journal takes forward its mission to provide all professionals involved in wound care with the most important, relevant and applied research aimed at improving patient care, while continuing to foster partnership between industry, clinicians and researchers.
Journal of wound care Journal of Wound Care (JWC) is the definitive wound-care journal and the leading source of up-to-date research and clinical information on everything related to tissue viability. The journal was first launched in 1992 and aimed at catering to the needs of the multidisciplinary team. Published monthly, the journal’s international audience includes nurses, doctors and researchers specialising in wound management and tissue viability, as well as generalists wishing to enhance their practice. In addition to cutting edge and state-of-the-art research and practice articles, JWC also covers topics related to wound-care management, education and novel therapies, as well as JWC cases supplements, a supplement dedicated solely to case reports and case series in wound care. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed by a panel of international experts, comprised of clinicians, nurses and researchers.
Wound medicine Wound Medicine is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary and cross-professional journal focusing on clinical, scientific and health economics aspects in the prevention, management and reimbursement in wound care. The journal aims to meet the information need of wound care specialists and service providers by publishing papers on clinical service modeling, service delivery modeling and financial modeling for different reimbursement systems. Topics covered will also include clinical research and its impact on the treatment of wounds. This will facilitate the development of standards and enhancement of guidelines and enable further modification of practice benefiting health care professionals in and beyond Europe as well as the development of international consensus findings.
Wound practice and research Wound Practice and Research (formerly Primary Intention) is the official journal of the Australian Wound Management Association Inc. It is a refereed journal that is published quarterly. The focus of the journal is primarily in discussing and portraying issues on wound management within Australia and surrounding countries. It is gaining a strong reputation as a source of reference for clinicians in the field of wound research, clinical wound management, stomal therapy, infection control and pharmacy.

Wounds Australia Wounds Australia is the peak body for wound care and management. It provides access to evidence-based resources (including Standards and Guidelines), runs a range of events hosted by leading wound specialists Australia-wide, and supports various education activities.
Wounds UK resources Wounds UK has extensive experience in the field of wound healing, and provides high-quality independent medical education using multiple platforms. Their aim is to support practitioners by providing insight into latest developments and condensing the available evidence into concise and practice-based guidance for everyday wound management.
Wound source WoundSource.com is the digital companion to WoundSource and offers both detailed product information and robust search capabilities unavailable in the print format. WoundSource.com provides articles, blogs by industry thought leaders, white papers and other educational resources for wound care professionals.