Skip to content

Japanese studies: Home

Guide to resources for students of Japanese language and culture

Welcome


Image courtesy of deshow.net

Welcome to the Japanese Studies libguide at Monash. This site is designed to help you locate resources within the library as well as provide links to external websites that help you in your studies or cultural interactions with Japan.

The Japanese collection is one of the oldest Asian collections at the Matheson Library. The focus of the collection has been on the history of modern Japan and contemporary Japanese society; economics, politics, women’s studies, popular culture, music, literature, language and linguistics.

Japanese language books, journals and newspapers are kept in the Asian Studies Research Collection, basement level of the Matheson library.

Audio-visual materials (microforms, language kits and videos) in both Japanese and English are kept in the Music and Multimedia Collection.

English language materials relating to Japanese studies are primarily in the general collection but spread throughout the library.

Teaching materials for Japanese language, textbooks for Japanese language, Japanese picture books etc. are kept in the Japanese Teaching Collection on the first floor of the Matheson Library. For more information on the collection, view the 'Teaching Japanese' tab.

 

Suggestions

Let us know if you would like any books, journals or audio visual materials added to our collection.

Please email the contact librarian.

Contact Librarian: Ayako Hatta (Matheson Library)

Learning skills and Arts Academic Language and Learning Unit

 

 

Access to Asian Collections

Asian Collections are now been moved to its new location on the 1st floor of the Matheson Library and is open for users to browse and borrow items.

Due to the ongoing library refurbishment, the main stairs are not available and you will need to use the lift to get to the 1st floor. If you need directions, please ask at the Information Point at the Library's entrance.