Skip to content

Korean Studies: *Events*

A comprehensive guide for users of all aspects of Korean studies.

Displays

Notice:

The Asian Studies Research Collection (ASRC)'s name was changed to the Asian Collections (AC) in early 2016.
The Asian Collections are located at the Sir Louis Matheson Library, Clayton, within the Special collections area of Level 1.

Current display

Korean items in the "Asian Collections" display (22 May 2017- )

Previous displays

Mo Yan: winner of the 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature (23 March 2015- 29 May 2015)

Asian Studies Research Collection (27 November 2014- 22 March 2015)

 

Joko Widodo (Jokowi): a new president for Indonesia (8 September 2014-7 November 2014)

Korean War (5 May 2014- 7 September 2014)

Chinese Rare Books from the University of Melbourne Cultural Collections (6 February 2014 - 4 May 2014)

Norodom Sihanouk Archival Collection (7 August 2013- 5 February 2014)

Buddhist Art from China (21 May 2013 - 6 August 2013)

Japanese Book Cover (mid-March 2013- 20 May 2013)

Chinese Tea and Culture (10 January 2013- mid-March 2013)

Indonesian films (29 September 2012 - 9 January 2013)

K-pop (Korean pop music) (14 June - 28 September 2012)

Japanese dramas and movies (1 March - 13 June 2012) 

Balai Pustaka Collection (19 September 2011 -29 February 2012) 

Asian Music Scores (22 June - 18 September 2011)

Asian cookbooks (22 March - 21 June 2011)

Korean culture : clothing, food, house (4 January - 21 March 2011)

Events

Korean Studies Seminar Series

organized by Monash University Korean Studies

Semester 2, 2017

Date & Venue
Korean Studies Seminar

Monday 4 September
6:00pm - 8:30pm

Japanese Studies Center Auditorium
Monash University
Clayton campus

Korean Film Screening

Short introductiory talk "Train to Busan and the Korean War" by Dr Andrew David Jackson (Monash University), followed by a screening of "Train to Busan".

Friday 15 September
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Room E561, Building 20
Monash University
Clayton campus

Presentation

"Hardworking Women: Embodying the Nation in a Jeju Dive Fishery", by Josephine Wright (Independent Scholar).

Thursday 5 October
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Room E561, Building 20
Monash University
Clayton campus

Presentation

"20 Year's Evolution of North Korean Migration" by Dr Jiyoung Song (Asia Institute, University of Melbourne).

Wednesday 18 October
1:00pm - 2:15pm

Japanese Studies Center Auditorium
Monash University
Clayton campus

Presentation

"Fish, Forests and Fungus: Vibrant matter(s) in the Environmental and Political Histories of North Korea" by Dr Robert Winstanley-Chesters (Australian National University, Canberra).

 

For further information:  andy.jackson@monash.edu

monash.edu

 

Upcoming events

Call For Papers - International Conference: “Korean Wave” Still Matters?  Present and Future Directions

Venue: Monash University Caulfield Campus, Australia
Date: 7-8 June 2018

Monash Asia Institute (MAI), Asian Cultural and Media Studies Research Cluster (ACMSRC) and Korean Studies Program of Monash University are pleased to welcome submissions of paper abstracts for the conference, “Korean Wave” Still Matters? Present and Future Directions”, which will be held on 7 & 8 June 2018.
Please submit your proposed title, abstract (200 words max), and brief bio-data (50 words max) to MAI-Enquiries@monash.edu by 10 December 2017. Please clearly put “Korean Wave” in the subject line. Acceptance of proposals will be notified by mid December. Please kindly be advised that we will not be able to offer financial support for participants’ travel costs, but we will try to cover postgraduate students’ accommodation, if partially. There will be no registration fee for the conference.
Any enquiries should be directed to MAI-Enquiries@monash.edu. We look forward to receiving your proposals!

 

Past events

Possible and Desirable? What can the German experience of reunification tell us about Korea?

Venue: Lecture Theatre H2.38 Caulfield Campus
Date: Monday 18 September 2017
Time: 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Panel discussion co-hosted by the MEEUC and the Monash Centre for Undergraduate Research Initiative and Excellence recorded for broadcast on ABC RN's Big Ideas program.

Panel Discussion Presenters:
Dr Danielle Chubb, Senior Lecturer (International Relations) School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Deakin University
Dr Michális S Michael, Senior Research Fellow and Director of the Centre for Dialogue, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, La Trobe University
Dr Andrew Jackson, Senior Lecturer and Convener of the Korean Studies program, Monash University
Dr Volker Prott, School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, University of Melbourne

New Unit for Semester 1 2018

ATS3156 - Popular culture in North and South Korea, Hallyu and East Asian cultural flows

The unit critically examines the recent popularity of Korean popular culture in East Asia and beyond. The focus is on South Korean pop music, gaming culture and TV dramas. However, we will also be considering North and South Korean graphic novels and cinema. The course also situates the recent Hallyu (Korean Wave) phenomenon within the history of cultural flows in East Asia and we examine the processes that have contributed to the increased consumption of Korean cultural product inside and outside the Korean peninsula. One primary focus will be on the analysis of critical approaches to the understanding of North Korean state media and South Korean commercial cultural output. In particular, we analyse how state-centered promotion policies are tied up with notions of cultural nationalism. The aim is to move beyond fandom and to encourage students to situate the production of popular culture within the domestic and regional political, economic, commercial and industrial contexts and to critically analyse popular culture using a variety of methodological approaches. Each week students will be introduced to different methodological frameworks they can utilize to unpack popular culture. In their readings, they will also be exposed to a variety of approaches to the analysis of popular culture case studies.

Loading

KOSAMO 코사모 - Korean Students Association of Monash University

Korean Students Association of Monash University

https://www.facebook.com/groups/kosamo 

Korean Appreciation Student Association (KASA)

Korean Appreciation Student Association (KASA)

안녕! We are KASA,

We are a close knitted club founded in Clayton campus, Monash University with membership for all. We have members from all across Victoria!

We will introduce many different aspects of Korean popular culture to the general student body through discussions, events, and programs.

Our variety spectrum ranges from "Gangnam Style" to kimchi - covering all aspects of traditional and popular Korean culture.

You do not need to be studying Korean or be of Korean ethnicity to join! We are accepting of all members and are eager to provide you with a safe, friendly environment to engage with and learn more about Korean culture.

Got questions? Email us at korean@monashclubs.org

https://www.facebook.com/KASAmonash
https://www.instagram.com/KASAmonash/

On Korea

The My Korea: Australian Stories project, to hear from Australians who have developed intercultural and language competencies that support them to work in and with Korea.
This project was supported by the Australian Government through the Australia-Korea Foundation of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. [cited from the Asia Education Foundation website]

Have a look at Monash University Korean langauge graduate Scott Walker's video clip "Korea, meet our national champion".
https://vimeo.com/43655111