Skip to content

Japanese Teaching Collection: Welcome

Melbourne Centre for Japanese Language Education Collection. Guide to resources for Japanese teachers of primary and secondary schools

Picture

japanese bridge

Image courtesy of deshow.net

Suggestions

Let us know if you would like any books, journals or audio visual materials added to our collection.

Please contact the Japanese studies Librarian, Ayako Hatta

MCJLE brochure

Japanese Teaching Collection

The Melbourne Centre for Japanese Language Education (MCJLE) was established in 1996 with a grant to Monash University from the Nippon Foundation in Japan. The MCJLE is committed to improve the teaching of Japanese in Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania.  Its activities include the organisation of in-service training programs, lectures and workshops, study scholarships for teachers of Japanese, the development of teaching materials, research, the publication of a newsletter, and the Japanese Teaching Collection.

The Collection is located on the First Floor in the Sir Louis Matheson Library, teaching and other materials are available for loan to teachers who hold resource cards issued by the MCJLE. The Collection includes a range of materials suitable for use in the classroom, such as kits, flash cards,story books, cultural information, readers and workbooks, as well as audio-visual materials and CD-ROMs.

See also under Special Collections.

Enquiries

  • Library telephone help: 9905 5054
    (Mon.-Thurs. 9am-7pm, Friday 9am-5.30pm,Sat/Sun 1pm-5pm)
  • Japanese language/studies library enquiries and requests for new resources, please contact the Japanese Studies Librarian, Ayako Hatta on 9902 4283; Email: Ayako.Hatta@monash.edu
  • Enquiries regarding registration and the MCJLE, please contact the Director, Anne de Kretser on 9905 2313; Email: Anne de Kretser@monash.edu

Highlights

ないしょのおともだち Translation of: "Mary and the mouse, the mouse and Mary"

Call number:  495.686 D687N 2009

これは、マリーです。これは、ネズミです。ふたりは、おなじいえに すむ ないしょの おともだちでした。

 

 ないしょのかくれんぼ Translation of: "Where's mommy?"

Call number:  495.686 D687N 2014 

これは、マリーのむすめのマリアです。これは、ネズミのむすめのネズネズです。ふたりも やっぱり、おなじいえに すむ ないしょの おともだちでした。