Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Teaching Collection

Finding materials

  • Use the Library Search to find resources in the library.
  • Using Natural language, a simple search box will bring back results from a number of different sources.
  • You can refine the results of your basic search.
  • For more options, you can do an advanced search.

From Basic search

Example 1: Type: 日本語 in the search box.  (You will find 日本語 resources held in the Library)

Then refine your results by “Unique collection” - Japanese Teaching (You will find 日本語 resources held in the Japanese Teaching Collection)

Example 2: Type: Cooking Japanese in the search box. 

Then refine your results by “Unique collection” - Japanese Teaching (You will find resources on food, eating and cookbooks held in the Japanese Teaching Collection)

From Advanced search

Example: Select “Author/creator” and “contains”, and type: Sue Burnham in the search box.

Then refine your results by “Collection - Japanese Teaching Collection” (You will find resources written by Sue Burnham held in the Japanese Teaching Collection)

 

See the library guide for "Finding non-English resources" under finding Japanese resources. You will be able to learn how to find Japanese resources in Search.

Japanese Teaching Collection call numbers

Number Subject
495.607 Education, research, teaching methods
495.611 Writing Japanese, Hiragana, Katakana, Kanji
495.65 Grammar
495.681 Words, vocabularies
495.6824      Textbooks and exercises for reading and writing
495.6834         Textbooks and exercises for speaking and listening
495.684 Textbooks for primary schools (Monbusho kentei kyokasho)
495.686 Readers, picture books
915.2 Geography of and travel in Japan
952 Japanese history

Search activities