Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Teaching Collection

Access the Library and materials

The Japanese Teaching Collection can be accessed by visiting the Sir Louis Matheson Library on the first floor, Clayton campus during opening hours. View the Matheson Library floor plan to locate these collections.

  • Japanese Teaching materials are labeled with a prefix MCJ and the call number. 
  • Materials in audio-visual formats (videos, DVDs, CDs, etc.) are located in the Music and Multimedia Collection in the Matheson Library.
  • Items in the collection are available for loan.
  • Use the Library Search to find items.

Library map

Library map (text version)

Ground level:

At the Library entrance:  Turn right and take a lift or stairs to the 1st floor.

Check the Matheson Library opening hours online.

At the Information Point:  Ask any questions at the Information Point.

Japanese language teachers can arrange borrowing rights to the collection by registering through the Monash Japanese Language Education Centre (MJLEC) office. Teachers will then be issued a special users card from the Information Point.

Alternatively teachers can request postal service through the MJLEC office.

Level 1:

At the Music Multimedia Collection:

Special user card holders can borrow for 14 days for audio-visual materials including DVDs, videos, CDs and CD-ROMs which are kept in the Music Multimedia Collection.

At the Japanese Teaching Collection:

The Collection includes a range of materials suitable for teaching and other materials use in the classroom, such as kits, flash cards, story books, big books, cultural information, readers and workbooks. Maps, charts, posters are kept in a stand at the very end of the Collection.  Special user card holders can borrow items for 14 days from this Collection.