Subject guides: Urban Planning and Design: Data, Standards, Statistics and Tools

Data, Standards, Statistics and Tools

AURIN Data
AURIN is a national collaboration delivering e-research infrastructure to empower better decisions for Australia’s urban settlements and their future development. Browse the growing list of all datasets accessible through the AURIN Portal.
CSIRO Data61
CSIRO's Data61 is the data and digital specialist arm of Australia's national science agency. Home to one of the largest collections of research and development expertise in Artificial Intelligence (AI) and data science in the world, research expertise includes AI, robotics, cybersecurity, modelling and analytics.
UN-Habitat Urban Data
Free and open access to data about countries and cities. Data is analyzed, compiled and published by UN-Habitat’s Global Urban Observatory which supports governments, local authorities and civil society organizations to develop indicators, data and statistics.

Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives users strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.

Australian Building Codes Board (including the National Construction Code)
The Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) is a standards writing body responsible for the National Construction Code, WaterMark and CodeMark Certification Schemes, and regulatory reform in the construction industry.
Victorian Building Regulations Online
Access the Building Regulations 2018 (Vic) and other Victorian legislation.

Techstreet: Australian, British and international standards This link opens in a new window
Offers a searchable database of technical standards and specifications, produced by Standards Australia, with full text views.
Westlaw Australia This link opens in a new window
Platform for searching selective Australian cases, legislation and commentary.

NATSPEC Library
An independent not-for-profit organisation which provides a continuing service to maintain the national building specification in its accuracy and currency.
SpeedSpec Student Edition
A master guide specification. It consists of: a document containing preliminary documents and trade sections all in a single file (in Word version ) and a user guide (Word).