Produced by the American Anthropological Association, lists discussion groups, journals, bibliographies meetings and other relevant resources. However it also covers Archaeology extensively. Probably more than 50% of the site links to Archaeology resources. An award winning site and a useful resource.
by Robert Borofsky. Article database with abstracts. This site contains summaries of articles in the American Anthropologist (1888-2000) and Current Anthropology and Human Organization are in progress. These are done by University students under the guidance of academics. It also contains an ejournal , writings by distinguished anthropologists , a Photo gallery and a list of outreach programs by Anthropology Departments at some US Universities. The site aims to engage Anthropologists beyond the walls of academia to foster social change. The journal archive can be searched by keyword to pull up pertinent articles.
AusAnthrop is an on-line database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages, and dialectal groups. It is a reference database that should help to find a tribe or language from the many alternative names and spellings used in the literature. The database contains alternative names, some places of location, bibliographic references, links to archival files at the South Australian Museum, linguistic classifications such as those by the SIL (Summer Institute of Linguistics) and the AIATSIS (Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies), as well as the name given in EAA (Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia).
The AIATSIS is the national research and collecting institution for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present. A collection of films, photographs, video and audio recordings and the world’s largest collections of printed and other resource materials for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
A private operating Foundation dedicated to the advancement of anthropology throughout the world. Through programs of funding for research projects, conferences, symposia, fellowships, and publication, the Foundation aids basic research in all branches of anthropology and closely related disciplines concerned with human origins, development and variation.
The Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology's digital portal offers free access to nearly 4 million objects, photographs, films, and sound recordings, from Egyptian mummy sarcophagi to textiles, baskets, and much, much more. There are +50,000 items from Oceania, with +5,600 from Australia.
To log into Kanopy:
- Click on 'Log In to Monash'
- Enter your Monash credentials in the popup window
- Click on 'Skip' for "Create Your Account"
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions, providing them with a dedicated and customizable website through which their users can stream films. The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases including titles from Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, Media Education Foundation, Ronin, Documentary Education Resources, and more. More than 20,000 films and documentaries are available, and many cover a wide range educational disciplines.
This portal provides access to Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform (Select the My collections dropdown, and then one or more collections). Video, audio, and text collections, covering a wide variety of subject matters, are included. In addition to secondary sources, the portal also contains significant primary source material. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
NOTE: VHA's system requirements: Windows Vista, 7, and 8 with Google Chrome, Internet Explorer 9 or above
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive provides access to over 50,600 video interviews conducted with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. These testimonies were collected in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The majority of the interviews are with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. Political prisoners, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, and liberators, witnesses, rescuers, and aid providers also provided testimony.