Skip to main content

Criminology: Databases

A subject guide to Monash University Library's resources for students and researchers of Criminology.

Databases for Criminology at Monash Library

 

These are the top Monash Library databases for Criminology, organised by subject matter. 


Key Databases for Criminology

These databases have high numbers of criminological results, even though many are multidisciplinary.

 


Criminology & Criminal Justice Databases

These databases have information mainly relating to criminology and criminal justice.


Social Sciences Databases

These databases have information from across the social sciences.


Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases have information from across a wide range of fields, including the social sciences and criminology.


There are plenty more Law and legal databases at the

Law Library Guide

 

Bibliographic content means that these databases might not have full-text articles, and instead list the titles and sometimes the abstracts of huge collections of books and journals. Looking in a bibliographic index can be a great way to see how much has been written about a topic, and to figure out where to focus your search for material. It can also be a way for researchers to keep up with what's being written and published in their field, and to pursue new lines of questioning in a broad area of study.

For Honours, Postgrads, Doctoral students, and researchers, items that you find in a bibliographic index can be ordered via Document Delivery.


 

Criminology


Social Sciences


Law & Legal Content

Loading ...

Google Scholar at Monash, Grey literature, & Open Access resources

Google Scholar at Monash

Google Scholar is another way of searching some of the Monash University Library databases to find journal articles.

If you use the Monash link below to access Google Scholar, you'll be able to use the Check for full text and similar links to go straight to many of the articles contained in the Monash University Library databases.


 

Note: Do not click an article's title, only the links to the right.

 


Pros of Google Scholar

  • Specifically looks for academic material
  • Interdisciplinary results
  • Large numbers of results
  • Familiar Google interface
  • Spell check
  • Keyword suggestions

 

Cons of Google Scholar

  • Free access to only a small amount of material
  • Misses important articles
  • Millions of results are hard to sift through
  • Difficult to do complex searches
 

Grey Literature

Grey literature is a large category, broadly defined as material not published by traditional book or journal publishers, from government documents to conference proceedings to maps, statistical surveys, and theses and dissertations.

Open Access resources

Open Access materials are free for all to use online. They can be anything from peer-reviewed journal articles and books to theses, conference papers, and more. 

More information on Open Access:

Tips for using Google Scholar

Learn how to better use Google Scholar, from detailed searching to the famous Google Cheat Sheet.

Did you know?

  • You can use  to view top journals in your field. 
  • You can use  to save and store articles you find on Google Scholar
  • Using  will notify you of new articles you might be interested in when they become available.
  •  can help you create some citations, but be careful! They might not be accurate. Always check them against the Citing and Referencing Guide or the manual of the referencing style you're using.
  • You can add the Google Scholar Button to Chrome to help you search quicker while online.
  • If you are published, you can create an Google Scholar author profile to see the impact of your work

Your Google Scholar Profile

For researchers

Setting up and maintaining your Google Scholar profile as a researcher enables your published and Open Access work to be easily available to all researchers using Google Scholar. Sign up via the Google Scholar Citations link below.

Why set up a Google Scholar Profile?

It allows you to:

  • Manage articles attached to your name in Google Scholar
  • Create a comprehensive and easy-to-access article list of your work
  • Have a public (or private) profile

and most importantly,

  • Use Google Scholar Citations and Google Scholar Metrics to measure and promote your own research impact
Loading ...