Design

Reading Graphic Design in Cultural Context explains key ways of understanding and interpreting the graphic designs we see all around us, in advertising, branding, packaging and fashion. It situates these designs in their cultural and social contexts. Drawing examples from a range of design genres, leading design historians Grace Lees-Maffei and Nicolas P. Maffei explain theories of semiotics, postmodernism and globalisation, and consider issues and debates within visual communication theory such as legibility, the relationship of word and image, gender and identity, and the impact of digital forms on design.

Graphic Design in Urban Environments introduces the idea of a category of designed graphic objects that significantly contribute to the functioning of urban systems. These elements, smaller than buildings, are generally understood by urban designers to comprise such phenomena as sculpture, clock towers, banners, signs, large screens, the portrayal of images on buildings through "smart screens," and other examples of what urban designers call "urban objects."

This book examines how to optimize design management processes in order to produce innovation within organizations. It first looks at how to harvest a culture of design and then examines topics specific to product and service design. Individual chapters provide anecdotes drawn from leading design-oriented firms, and best practices based on cutting-edge, scientific research. This book's unique blend of theory and application will offer students, scholars, and managers valuable insight on how organizations can revolutionize their design processes and leverage their approach to create groundbreaking products and services.

With the coming flood of connected products, many UX and interaction designers are looking into hardware design, a discipline largely unfamiliar to them. If you're among those who want to blend digital and physical design concepts successfully, this practical book helps you explore seven long-standing principles of industrial design. Two present and former design directors at IDEO, the international design and innovation firm, use real-world examples to describe industrial designs that are sensorial, simple, enduring, playful, thoughtful, sustainable, and beautiful.

Human Factors in Global Software Engineering is a collection of innovative research focusing on the challenges, issues, and importance of human factors in global software engineering organizations in order to help these organizations better manage their manpower and provide an appropriate culture and technology in order to make their software development projects successful. While highlighting topics including agile software, knowledge management, and human-computer interaction, this book is ideally designed for project managers, administrators, business professionals, researchers, practitioners, students, and academicians.

Thoughts on Interaction Design, Second Edition, contemplates and contributes to the theory of Interaction Design by exploring the semantic connections that live between technology and form that are brought to life when someone uses a product. It defines Interaction Design in a way that emphasizes the intellectual and cultural facets of the discipline. This edition explores how changes in the economic climate, increased connectivity, and international adoption of technology affect designing for behavior and the nature of design itself.

The authors of Thoughtful Interaction Design go beyond the usual technical concerns of usability and usefulness to consider interaction design from a design perspective. The shaping of digital artifacts is a design process that influences the form and functions of workplaces, schools, communication, and culture; the successful interaction designer must use both ethical and aesthetic judgment to create designs that are appropriate to a given environment.

Visual Spatial Enquiry explores visual and textual ways of working within spatial research. Architects and spatial thinkers from the arts, social sciences and humanities present rich case studies from remote and regional settings in Australia to the suburbs of Los Angeles, and from gallery and university settings to community collaborations in Mongolia. Through these case studies the authors reappraise and reconsider research approaches, methods and processes within and across their fields. Drawing on the editors' own architectural backgrounds, this volume is organised into three key themes: seeing, doing and making space.

The Interior Architecture Theory Reader presents a global compilation that collectively and specifically defines interior architecture. Diverse views and comparative resources for interior architecture students, educators, scholars, and practitioners are needed to develop a proper canon for this young discipline. As a theoretical survey of interior architecture, the book examines theory, history, and production to embrace a full range of interior identities in architecture, interior design, digital fabrication, and spatial installation.

This book provides an overview of the large and interdisciplinary literature on the substance and process of urban climate change planning and design, using the most important articles from the last 15 years to engage readers in understanding problems and finding solutions to this increasingly critical issue. The Reader's particular focus is how the impacts of climate change can be addressed in urban and suburban environments--what actions can be taken, as well as the need for and the process of climate planning.

The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Design considers the design, not only of artifacts, but of structures, systems, and interactions that bear our decisions and identities in the context of sustaining our shared planet. In addressing issues of design for global impact, behavior change, systems and strategy, ethics and values, this handbook presents a unique and powerful design perspective. Just as there are multiple definitions of design, so there are several definitions of sustainability, making it difficult to find unity.

This edited collection brings together feminist research on transport and planning from different epistemologies, with the intention to contribute to a more holistic transport planning practice. With a feminist perspective on transport policy and planning, the volume insists on the political character of transport planning and policy, and challenges gender-blindness in a policy area that impacts the everyday lives of women, men, girls, and boys.

The central premise of Design for Transport is that the designer's role is to approach design for transport from the point of view of the user. People have a collection of wants and needs and a significant proportion of them are to do with their requirements for mobility. The authors show how creative designers can take a user-focused approach for a wide range of types of transport products and systems. In so doing their starting point is one of creative dissatisfaction with what is currently available, and their specialist capability is in imagining and developing new solutions which respond to that opportunity.

The first step-by-step guidebook for successful innovation planning. 101 Design Methods approaches the practice of creating new products, services, and customer experiences as a science, rather than an art, providing a practical set of collaborative tools and methods for planning and defining successful new offerings.

The Future of Design Methodology gives a holistic overview of perspectives for design methodology, addresses trends for developing a powerful methodical support for design practice and provides a starting point for future design research. The chapters are written by leading scientists from around the world, who have great expertise in design methodology, as well as the farsightedness needed to develop design methodology further.

Doing Research in Design presents new ways of thinking about the relationship between design and research by positioning design as a social as well as a material practice. This approach emphasises the social consequences of design decisions as well as the importance of the efficient functioning of a design. Doing Research in Design argues that design promotes social change and that, in order to understand that change, designers must turn to social science research methods.

Today, designers design services, processes and organizations; craft skills no longer suffice. We need to discover, define and solve problems based upon evidence. We need to demonstrate the validity of our claims. We need a guide to design research that can educate students and be a reference for professionals. And here it is: a masterful book for 21st century designers. It provides a structured approach to introducing students and researchers to design research and takes the reader through the research process from defining the research problem to the literature review on to data collection and analysis.