Subject guides: Design: Websites & Conferences

Other useful guides

Recommended Websites

Dexigner
Online portal for creatives of all kinds. Dexigner publishes the latest design news, events, competitions, books and resources.
Emigre Fonts
One of the first independent type foundries utilising computer technology for the design and distribution of fonts.
Onomatopee
A curating and editorially led public gallery and publisher that is particularly known for their self-initiated and transdisciplinary projects.
RMIT Design Archives
Both digital and material, the collections represent historical and contemporary practices which tell the story of Melbourne as a design city, and provide the resources and support for research into Melbourne’s designed environment, design professions and practices.
Slanted
Typography news and events.
Victoria State Government: Creative Industries Strategy
'Creative State 2025' is the Victorian Government’s four-year strategy to strengthen and grow the state’s creative industries.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
A collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media.

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
US museum devoted exclusively to historical and contemporary design. Collection of more than 210,000 design objects spanning 30 centuries. from ancient textiles and works on paper to icons of modern design and cutting-edge technologies.
Core 77 Industrial Design Magazine + Resource
Publishes articles, discussion forums, an extensive event calendar, hosts portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services. Core77 provides a gathering point for designers and enthusiasts alike by producing design competitions, lecture series, parties, and exhibits.
Designboom
Digital architecture and design magazine.
Good Design Australia
International design promotion organisation responsible for managing Australia’s annual Good Design Awards and other design events.
Ikea Museum
An amazing array of digitised IKEA catalogues from the 1950s to today.
MIT Media Lab
Media Lab focusses on the study, invention, and creative use of digital technologies to enhance the ways that people think, express, and communicate ideas, and explore new scientific frontiers.

UX Australia
Runs events about user experience design and related topics - service design, customer experience, UX within agile, mobile design and more.
UX Booth
A publication by and for the user experience community, consisting mostly of beginning-to-intermediate user experience and interaction designers. Join to discuss best practices and trending topics, or share your experiences.
UX Mag
A community forum dedicated to exploring, promoting, and discussing the realm of experience design.

Australian Interior Design Awards
Recognise and celebrate interior design excellence via a credible, industry-based program, which is backed by the Design Institute of Australia, the professional body representing Australian designers.
Parlour: Women, Equity, Architecture
A site for active exchange and discussion, Parlour brings together research, informed opinion and resources on women, equity and architecture in Australia. It seeks to expand the spaces and opportunities available to women while also revealing the many women who already contribute in diverse ways.

Victorian Eco Innovation Lab (VEIL)
A research-design-action group focused on innovation for more sustainable and resilient future cities. It is an interdisciplinary group whose work is engaged with and embedded in industry, government and communities.

Office of the Victorian Government Architect: Transport
This issue of Good Design explores key design principles and outlines some approaches to achieve good design in transport.
Monash Mobility Design Lab
From personal to public transport, bikes to buses, family cars to autonomous vehicles, Mobility Design Lab (MDL) researchers are experts at designing to better understand how and why we get from place to place.
Monash Institute of Transport Studies (ITS)
Aims to progress transport knowledge and practice to contribute to the prosperity and sustainability of industry and the wider community. (The Monash ITS is within the Department of Civil Engineering).

Professional Organisations for Designers

A selection of relevant professional organisations, both Australian and International, are provided below. These member organisations represent Design professionals and provide information, resources and advocacy. Some also offer conferences, training, job boards and employment information.

Conferences

Calls for papers

WikiCFP
A semantic wiki for Calls For Papers in science and technology fields.
Design Research Society
A learned society committed to promoting and developing design research. Sign up to receive conference alerts via the monthly Design Research Newsletter.
Conference Alerts: Academic Conferences Worldwide
Free subscription to receive e-mail updates of conferences matching your interests, available dates and preferred locations. There is a category for Design.
The CFP List: An Academic Call for Papers Database
This database has a humanities focus, rather than being specifically about Design.

Databases for conference proceedings

Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
An abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Covers Sciences, Art, Humanities and Social Sciences.