Subject guides: Foreign law: China &amp; Hong Kong

China's legal system

For an Introduction to China's Legal System and Official Sources of Law, see:

China's Legal System (National People's Congress (NPC) of the People's Republic of China)
Chinese Legal System and A Brief Introduction to China (Lawinfo China)
Legal Research Guide - China (Library of Congress)

Find additional books using Search.

Try an Advanced search with China and Law in Subject, or specify a specific area of law such as Constitutional law or Corporation law

Brill Online - Asian Studies
Search journals, ebooks and chapters.
Brill Online - International Law
Search journals, ebooks and chapters.
International encyclopaedia of Laws (Kluwer Law Online)
Select China for a range of topics covered by the international encyclopaedias.

China's Legislative System (The National People's Congress (NPC) of the People's Republic of China)
The National People's Congress (NPC) of the People's Republic of China official website
The Legislative System of China (China.org.cn)
Explanation of the legislative system of China provided by the authorised government portal site to China
AsianLII - Laws of the People's Republic of China
This database contains selected Chinese legislation and related documents that have been translated into English.
Database of Laws and Regulations (NPC)
Collection of the laws enacted by the National People’s Congress and its Standing Committee and administrative regulations by the State Council (in English).
Business Laws and Regulations (china.org.cn)
Collection of business laws and regulations enacted by the National People’s Congress and its Standing Committee (in English).
NATLEX - China
Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation.
Hong Kong, Dept of Justice. BLIS (Bilingual Laws Information System)
Official database of Hong Kong legislation providing access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation (in English).

There is no comprehensive official or unofficial reporting system of case law in China.

Online Case Law

Print Case Law

Search for journal articles about China in the Library's journal databases or Google Scholar.

Journal Databases

Asian Law Online (Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne)
Bibliographic database of materials relating to Asian legal studies.
China Academic Journals Database (Zhongguo qi kan quan wen shu ju ku)
Comprehensive full-text database of Chinese academic journals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Multilingual index to articles including Chinese journals
Westlaw China
Database contains select legal journals from the People's Republic of China.

Journals

China Data Online
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories.
UNdata
Statistical time series for countries from around the world including China
CIA The World Factbook - China
Information and Statistics about China
EPS China Data (English version)
EPS China Data provides series statistical and census data from the Peoples Republic of China.