Skip to Main Content

Indonesian Studies: News and Media

A comprehensive guide for researchers and students of all aspects of the Indonesian collection

Online media

Magazines

Television and radio

ABC Indonesian news, information and language education content in Indonesian

Dutch world broadcaster and multimedia organisation

BBC Indonesian news in Indonesian. 

 

Other news sources

  • Inside Indonesia
    Quarterly English language print magazine. The internet edition contains selected articles, provides an index to recent editions, a database of past articles, a news digest, and information on how to subscribe to the print version.
  • Buset

Provide the latest Indonesian community news and events and highlight the importance and significance of embracing multiculturalism in Australia. Published every month and free. 

 

Newspaper holdings in print

Monash has very strong holdings of Indonesian newspapers in print and microfilm, including many historical newspapers. These are listed at 

Newspaper databases

The following databases provide searchable full-text of articles in English-language newspapers from Indonesia, including Jakarta Post.

Digitised newspapers

Historische Kranten

Historical Dutch newspapers digitised by the Royal Library, The Hague

Berita Repoeblik Indonesia

A newspaper which marks the formation of the newly independent Indonesia in 1945 digitised by the National Library of Australia funded by the Indonesian Embassy in Canberrra. 

NIOD Indonesian Newspaper Project

A collection of digitised Indonesian newspapers from the 1930s and 1940s

Sin Po 
Sin Po was a Chinese-Malay (Peranakan) publication that was first published as a weekly newspaper by young Peranakan Chinese in Jakarta on 1 October 1910. 

Star Weekly
Star Weekly was a weekly magazine published in Jakarta in Indonesian by Keng Po, the second-most popular daily newspaper among peranakan Chinese.