Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.
"Movieplayer.it is an online Italian magazine focused in cinema, TV series, home videos and television programs ... [It] is a web portal providing internet users with a huge database on cinema with movies, TV series, characters, DVD and Blu-Ray sheets, as well as continuos updates on everything related to current events and news of cinema and television world...
Translation Studies Bibliography (TSB) is an annotated bibliography of the field of translation and interpreting studies. Translation and interpreting studies comprises the discipline dealing with transfer and mediation, containing aspects of intra- and interlingual translation, intercultural communication, adaptation, interpreting, localization, multimedia translation, language mediation, terminology and documentation. TSB includes journal articles, monographs, (articles from) collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts.
click on ACCESS FOR LICENSED USERS - then from list of publishers, select Zanichelli and search
The Biblioteca italiana Zanichelli (BIZ) contains the searchable full text of more than 1,000 seminal works of Italian literature from the 13th Century to the early 20th Century. In addition to literary works, the database contains the contributions that have appeared in the magazines Il Caff (1764-1766) and Il Conciliatore (1818-1819) and non-literary works such as Croniche by Giovanni, Matteo and Filippo Villani; the Storia d'Italia by Francesco Guicciardini; the Vite by Giorgio Vasari; the extensive collection of travel reports Navigazioni e viaggio by Giovanni Battista Ramusio; the Istoria del Concilio Tridentino by Paolo Sarpi; the Piazza universal by Tommaso Garzoni; Teatro delle favole rappresentative by Flaminio Scala; Zibaldone by Giacomo Leopardi; and the librettos of Giuseppe Verdi.
ACLS humanities e-bookACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. The database provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Adam Matthew digital (AM Explorer)Adam Matthew Digital publishes digitised online primary source collections in the social sciences and humanities, from different historical eras. To search within or across specific collections licenced by Monash University Library select "use products held at my institution" from the drop down list.
AFI catalog : American Film Institute catalogThe AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. Drawing on the expertise of specialist staff at the American Film Institute (AFI), it is a key resource for any educational institution, library, or film organization that is involved with the research, study and teaching of film. Search via key word, film title, character name, cast and crew production, release information, subject, genre, and songs. Plot summaries are included in most entries.
Alexander Street PressThis portal provides access to many of Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. Users can also select to search a single collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Amsterdam University Press [collection]A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.
Archives hubThis searchable database provides a single point of access to descriptions of archives held in universities and colleges in the United Kingdom. At present these are primarily at collection-level, although where possible they are linked to complete catalogue descriptions. Web links to the actual collections are not provided, nor are the text or images of collections included. Each description includes: location; dates of creation; physical extent; administrative/biographical history; scope and content; and, access conditions.
Archives of sexuality & gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940The Library subscribes to Part I, II and III. Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries. Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. This second installment in the series highlights often-excluded groups--even within the LGBTQ community--and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism. Part III: broadens the scope from a specific focus on LGBTQ history and culture in Part 1 and Part II to the study of sex and sexuality. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.
Archives unboundArchives Unbound is a new resource of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. Collections available to Monash University staff and students to cross search, or search individually are: 1. Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963; 2. Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945; 3. European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930; 4. Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939; 5. Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950; 6. Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London; 7. The Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970; 8. The Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974; 9. America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organisations - Vietnam Veterans against the War; 10. The Observor: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962 - 1973; 11. Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960 - 1963; 12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993; 13. US Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asia
Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of ScienceArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Arts & humanities databaseThis ProQuest full-text journal database has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases ... Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subject strengths of the collection are: Art, design, crafts and photography; Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; Architecture, interior design and urban planning; History, philosophy, geography and religion; Modern languages and literatures; Music, theatre, film and cultural studies.
Australasian video onlineAustralasian Video Online is an online streaming database of documentary and educational videos from many of Australasia's top video publishers. This collection brings together the region's most-studied and respected films and includes key video published from the mid-20th century to present day. Films highlight regional perspectives on anthropology, environmental studies, business, economics, health, media studies, the arts, and other important disciplines. Films come from Australasia's most trusted content partners, including the National Film and Sound Archive's Film Australia Collection, SBS Television, George Andrews Productions, Beamafilms, and Electric Pictures. Also includes detailed teaching guides produced by The Australian Teachers of Media Association. Content is specifically designed for integration into today's undergraduate curriculum.
Australian screenAustralian screen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to. The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS.
BBC video collectionAlexander Streets BBC Video Collection combines 700 of our most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
Brepols Cross Database SearchtoolThe Brepols Cross Database Searchtool (CDS) enables users to consult and search the different full-text Latin databases of Brepols Latin: the Library Of Latin Texts (LLT, Series A and B), the electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica (eMGH), the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL), and the Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) simultaneously.
Brill onlineBrill Online Books and Journals offers searching and full text access to over 175,000 book chapters and journal articles, covering mainly the humanities, social sciences, religion, history, international law and biology.
Brill online reference worksBrings together major online reference works from the respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. Subjects covered include: History, Classical studies, Middle East and Islamic studies, International relations, Asian studies, Biblical studies, African studies, Jewish studies, Language and linguistics, and Religious studies. Monash University Library provides full text access to the following reference titles available at this site: Africa yearbook; African studies companion online; Brill's New Jacoby; Brill's New Pauly; Brill's New Pauly, Supplements 1-5; Christian-Muslim relations. A bibliographical history; Der Neue Pauly; Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker, Parts I-V; Encyclopedia of Christianity online; Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd ed.; Encyclopaedia of Islam, glossary and index of terms; Encyclopaedia of Islam, three; Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an; Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an, Qur'an concordance; Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures; and Historical atlas of Islam.
C19, the nineteenth century indexC19 indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919, [and] is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 14 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection-specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 24 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material.
Cambridge companions onlineCambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.The first two titles in the Companions series were the Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and the Cambridge Companion to Chaucer, which were both published in 1986 and have since been updated with new editions. Now, over 600 titles have been published with the intention not only to offer a comprehensive overview of their chosen topic, but to display and provoke lively and controversial debate. Cambridge Core hosts the online version of the printed series and includes over 600 Companion titles, over 4,000 essays, as well as bibliographies and further reading. It is fully searchable by author, title, topic, or theme.
Cambridge coreCambridge Core is the new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Cambridge Core provides a gateway to ebook and journal publications of the Cambridge University Press imprint, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences. (Only ebooks purchased by Monash University Library are available as full text access. Searches can be limited to this content by ticking the box "Only search content I have access to")
Cambridge journals onlineCambridge Journals Online offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of nearly 400 leading journals, including over 200 published on behalf of learned and professional societies. Cambridge Journals Online covers a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Central and Eastern European online libraryOnline database which provides access to full text articles from humanities and social sciences journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, South-Eastern, Baltic and Eastern European topics. Most of the content comes from material published in Central and Eastern Europe and is thus in the original language (titles, abstracts and some keywords are translated into English).
Chicago manual of style onlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q & A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets. (Access is to the 17th and 16th editions)
ClickView. Video and media productionClickview's Video and Media Production collection features streaming video series on a range of topics on film making. Series include: Philip Bloom's Cinematic Masterclass; Mastering Colour Cinema; Sound Illumination; Cinematography Workshop; and Alex Buono's Visual Storytelling. Content is mainly Australian.
Communication & mass media completeOffers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
Conference proceedings citation index. Social science & humanities (CPCI-SSH) via Web of ScienceThe conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the social sciences, covering: psychology, sociology, public health, management, economics, art, history, literature, and philosophy. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Crime, punishment and popular cultureThis database presents a broad and deep collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice ... This unique international collection helps researchers explore the causes and effects of the rise in crime during the Industrial Revolution, the development of metropolitan police departments, and the public's fascination with increasingly sensational accounts of crime in newspapers and fiction. It covers changing attitudes about punishment and reform that led to such practices as solitary confinement, prison work programs, and penal transportation, as well as "scientific" theories such as phrenology, which posited that character could be determined by physiognomy.
DART-Europe : e-theses portal.This is a searchable database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge. The DART-Europe Portal does not store theses, but it provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. DART-Europe holds as much information as possible about each thesis, but this can vary, depending on the source of the information. ...
Defining genderProvides access to original British source material which supports the study of history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Includes ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature ... Key topics that are addressed within the thematic areas include advice, appearance, anatomy, beauty, balls, birth, children, diet, dress, education, etiquette, entertaining, domestic service, fashion, games, health, marriage, medicine, midwifery, parents, recipes, religion, sexuality, sport, speech and theatre.
Authorised Users may download no more than 10,000 (ten thousand) Source Content documents per Session
"Authorised Users may distribute the outputs of Text and Data Mining, provided, however, that (i) where snippets and/or bibliographic metadata are distributed, they must be accompanied by a DOI link that points back to the individual full text article or book chapter, (ii) where images or text excerpts are used, Authorised Users are solely responsible for securing any intellectual property or other rights for reuse from the relevant rights holder, and (iii) the distributed outputs must include a proprietary notice stating "Some rights reserved. This work permits non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited." d. This license does not permit, and Licensee shall not permit, Authorised Users to: (i) Use snippets of text from individual full text articles or book chapters of more than 200 characters (excluding text entity matches or bibliographic metadata).
The Gale Digital Scholar Lab gives users the ability to create custom content sets containing as many as 10,000 documents. They can search across their librarys Gale Primary Sources holdings and seamlessly select documents to be added to their custom content set. Users can analyze and interrogate the data with the text analysis and visualization tools built into the Gale Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more. Users content sets remained saved in the Gale Digital Scholar Lab allowing them to manage their research for long term projects. They can publish their outputs with confidence retaining all intellectual property rights and are free to share analysis outputs.
Directory of open access booksThe Directory of Open Access Books is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide the metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB ...
e-Duke books scholarly collectionThe e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection includes around 100 new electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. for 2016. Searching and browsing is also available for an extensive back file of over 2000 titles.
East Europe, Central Europe databaseThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East View universal databasesEast View Universal Databases offers subscription databases comprised of published content from Russia and former Soviet states, China and East Asia. It provides access to newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents, and other materials, in native and translated languages. A transliteration feature is included.
EBook collection : EBSCOhost.Searchable full text database of EBSCOhost ebooks, including all titles formerly available on the NetLibrary platform (NetLibrary was acquired by Ebsco Publishing in 2010).
EBSCOhost research databasesProvides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.
Edinburgh University Press collectionDatabase of over 280 electronic books published by Edinburgh University Press. This Press is the premier scholarly publisher in Scotland of academic books and journals and one of the leading university presses in the UK.
EduTVSee also: Informit EduTV You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Essay and general literature retrospective (H.W. Wilson)This database comprises indexes and abstracts of essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers eight decades (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th century. Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
EuropeanaEuropeana.eu is a digital library containing over 30 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.
Film & television literature index with full text"Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text ... is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books."--database description (viewed July 9, 2009)
Film platformFilm Platform is an innovative collaboration between some of the leading filmmakers and sales agents around the world to bring some of the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Its international selection of films introduces new concepts, exposes students to fresh perspectives, and enhances classroom discussions.
Filmakers library onlineThe collection includes documentaries that are already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Gale academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from one of the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subject; intended primarily for academic researchers. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text of the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996.
Gale Artemis Primary SourcesProvides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search databases to which the institution subscribes. These databases include: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), The Making of the Modern World : the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, and The Making of Modern Law : Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926.
Gale general OneFileGales largest general interest periodical resource, General OneFile, provides periodical and news information on a wide range of topics. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles; more than 3,700 refereed journals; and hundreds of newspapers a total of in excess of 14,500 titles (more than 40% of which are unique to the database) with more than 35 years of coverage from 1980 to present.
Google scholarGoogle Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Gutenberg-eNow an Open Access site. A series of digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship produced in collaboration with the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press. Each e-text may offer extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.
Hathi Trust digital libraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, based in the United States, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Humanities & social sciences collectionCovers full text sources in agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing.
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective : 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson).Humanities and Social Science journals content from 1907. It includes the content of two standard reference indexes Humanities Index (April 1974 - March 1984) and Social Sciences Index (April 1974 - March 1983) as well as their predecessors: the Social Sciences & Humanities Index (April 1965 - March 1974) and International Index (1907 - March 1965).
Humanities indexAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities index indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subjects covered include: Archaeology, Current Affairs, Education, Economics, Environment, Gender Studies, History, Law, Political Science and Religion.
Humanities index retrospective : 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson).Humanities index retrospective, 1907-1984 indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to over 1,000,000 articles, including citations of over 155,000 books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
Indigenous AustraliaRepresents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, Hansard, cases and judgements, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and videos. Abstracts for all videos, and some books and articles are included. Covers Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander studies, stolen generation, removal of children, arts, copyright issues, racism, discrimination, Internet & telecommunications facilities and communities. Ceased publication in Dec. 2002.
Indigenous collectionWith a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, etc.
InformitProvides access to over 90 databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific. Includes 1. Informit Collections, providing cover-to-cover access to current and archived full text content from peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers and reports; 2. Informit Plus Text databases, delivering access to index and abstract data from peer reviewed journals with selective links to thousands of articles in full text; 3. Indexes, providing instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions.--Informit Products page.
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 20,000+programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. Features include: Instant streaming access to 20,000+ programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation... As well as significant documentaries Informit EduTV also includes several programs broadcast on Pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, NITV, BBC Knowledge and Discovery
International bibliography of theatre & dance with full textA database for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. Volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. The database contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books and monographs.
International encyclopedia of communication onlineThe online version of a 12-volume reference spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Arrangement of 1,400 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas. Updated several times per year.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive.Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions ... [providing] access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases including titles from Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Ronin, Documentary Education Resources, and more. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
Literature onlineLiterature online was migrated from ProQuest's legacy platform to the main ProQuest platform in January 2019. On the new platform, new user-driven enhancements and functionality are available, such as: now being cross-searchable with a wealth of relevant content on the ProQuest Platform including Early European Books, Historical Newspapers, Dissertations, archival magazine collections and more.
Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Its ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies help keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
Macquarie dictionary onlineThe Macquarie Dictionary Online gives you access to the most up-to-date database of Australian English, with annual updates of new words, along with its companion reference the Macquarie Thesaurus.
MAIS-ATSIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset.This bibliographic database is a subset of the MAIS database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. This subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Ceased updating Feb 2007
Manchester medieval sources onlineProviding easy access to digital history sources, Manchester Medieval Sources Online brings essential texts from the Manchester Medieval Sources series ...From the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, Manchester Medieval Sources brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts, many translated into English for the first time. The series is also unique in providing extensive introductory and explanatory material which will enable a beginner in the area to understand the variety of interpretations the sources have had, and any linguistic problems that have been controversial.
medici.tvmedici.tv is a collection of 1500+ classical music videos: concerts, operas, ballets, archives, documentaries, artist profiles and educational programmes, among others... Each year, several hundred new programmes are added ... films about the current music scene, archives from the 1950s, etc.
MLA international bibliographyProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Monash University research repositoryThe Monash University Research Repository contains content representing Monash University's research activity. The repository provides a place to securely store and centrally manage selected research data, collections, and related publications so they are globally accessible online...
The repository contains accepted versions of published works like books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers. Non-published manuscripts and grey literature like theses, technical reports, working and discussion papers, and conference posters are collected. Research data holdings, data sets, image collections, audio and video files are also included in the repository.
Mura / AIATSIS collections catalogueMura, the Aiatsis Library catalogue, includes bibliographic details of all Library materials. The Library contains comprehensive collections of print materials on Australian Indigenous studies. The Library's collections include manuscript materials, serials, language materials, books, rare books, art catalogues, newspapers, maps, posters and kits. The AIATSIS Audiovisual Archives hold film, video, recorded sound and pictorial materials.
OAPEN : online library and publication platform.OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library aims to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe ...
On-line books pageFeatures an index of thousands of books that can be freely read on the Internet. Also includes pointers to significant directories and archives of on-line texts, and special exhibits.
Orlando : women's writing in the British Isles from the beginnings to the presentDatabase includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).
Oxford bibliographies. Cinema and media studiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford bibliographies. ClassicsOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Classics. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford English dictionaryContains the complete contents of the 20-volume Second Edition of the 'Oxford English Dictionary' 1989 and the complete contents of the three-volume Additions 1993-1997, Third Edition in progress (Mar. 2000- ) as well as quarterly releases of at least 1000 new and revised entries.
Oxford handbooks onlineOxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. The Oxford Handbooks are one of the most successful and cited series within scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Note: Monash University library does not subscribe to all handbooks.
Oxford journalsProvides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years...
Oxford referencePortal to hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, Oxford companions, language references, and subject reference works spanning 25 different subject areas, published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford scholarly editions onlineOSEO currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1837, plus Classical Latin poets from Jane Austen, Jeremy Bentham, Catullus, and John Donne through to Virgil and Wordsworth. Modules include: Early 17th century drama; Early 17th century poetry; Early 17th century prose; Shakespeare; Renaissance prose; Restoration prose; Renaissance drama; Restoration drama; Renaissance poetry; Restoration poetry; Romantics drama; Romantics poetry; Romantics prose. Selected works from some European philosophers of the Romantic period, such as Bolzano, Godwin, and Hegel, are also included.
Periodicals archive onlineIndex to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format.
Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Popular literature, fiction and songs in Russia onlineThis collection illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender. The collection also includes rags-to-riches tales of social mobility, adventures set in Siberia and the Caucasus, and the stories of the occult world of wizards and sorceresses. Taken together, these lively texts illustrate changing stereotypes of gender, ethnicity, and social class. Their authors also invoke historical memory, celebrating notable personages and eras of interest to their readers. From popular songs to fairy tales and war stories, the collection follows the evolution of the Russian language in its popular commercial print form, an evolution that the Bolsheviks interrupted, but one that has now resumed.
Project GutenbergFeatures Project Gutenberg, which has the goal of making information, books, and other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Offers access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives. Discusses electronic texts and publishing, how to make a donation, and how to volunteer.
ProQuestProquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Proquest arts premium collectionThe Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.
ProQuest centralProQuest Central brings together many of ProQuest's most used databases to create a most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
ProQuest ebook centralProQuest's Ebook Central, integrating key elements from both ebrary and EBL - Ebook Library, provides full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Register of Australian Archives and ManuscriptsRAAM provides researchers with a convenient, centralised register of locations for primary research material. It does not provide detailed descriptions of the collections themselves; rather, it alerts researchers to the existence of collections and enables them to pursue further enquiries about the material, either online or through direct contact with repositories.
Routledge Handbooks onlineNote: Access to selective titles only. Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the worlds leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research from Routledge, and CRC Press, in the Humanities, Social sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built environment, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Routledge performance archiveThe Routledge Performance Archive is a developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre, providing unique access to an unprecedented range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance ... The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.
Included ... are interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences. The fully searchable and cross-referenced content will be updated each quarter, with exciting additions coming soon from the Victoria & Albert Museum's National Video Archive of Performance Recordings, and the British Library's Experimental Theatre and Live Art Collection.
SAGE research methods onlineSAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's ... book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SRMO contains content from more than 600 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.
ScopusBrowser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
SpringerLinkProvides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. Subject coverage includes: Biomedical sciences, Business & management, Chemistry, Computer science, Earth sciences and geography, Economics, Education & language, Energy, Engineering, Environmental sciences, Food science & nutrition, Law, Life sciences, Materials, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Psychology, Public health, Social sciences, and Statistics.
Studies on women and gender abstractsSWGA is an international abstracting database covering key areas of women's and gender studies, indexing abstracts of articles from over 1,325 sources. This bibliographic database, which is international in coverage, focuses on education, employment, family, health, gender roles, social policy, psychology, culture, media treatment, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Journals, books and other materials are included.
Taylor & Francis onlinePortal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which includes: over 16,000 journal titles from the publishers Psychology Press, Routledge, and Taylor & Francis; reference works (Taylor & Francis encyclopedias); a database, Routledge ERA (Educational Research Abstracts Online), and subdatabases of ERA, Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts, Routledge ABES and Ergonomics Abstracts; ebooks; and a link to CRCnetBASE. Note: not all content is accessible to Monash University Library users.
Theatre in videoFrom the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the '50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the '60s and '70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience. The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Bertolt Brecht's Berliner Ensemble.
Thesaurus linguae GraecaeThe TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of the Byzantium in 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
TVNewsFor teaching use only See also: Informit TVNews
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning ... Coverage is from 2007 to present Please note this resource is for teaching use only.
UC Press e-books collection, 1982-2004Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics including art, science, history, music, religion and fiction. Monash University Library provides access to nearly 500 of these titles
Wiley online libraryWiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles ...
Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.
Women in the National ArchivesThis resource is comprised of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in the National Archives, Kew; and, Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories b The finding aid brings together the results of a five year project by staff at Kew and enables researchers to quickly locate details of any document relating to women in the National Archives at Kew. It is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere on the web and has the benefit of ranging across all of the classes of material held at the National Archives. The original documents focus on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Prominent suffragettes include Emmeline Pethick-Lawrence, the Pankhursts, Emily Wilding Davison, Clara Giveen and Rachel Peace (alias Jane Short).
Women's studies archive. Women's issues and identitiesThis collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs ... The database will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society. Topics covered include: the history of feminist theory and activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.
World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
The WDL makes available on the Internet significant primary materials from all countries and cultures. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. Each item on the WDL is accompanied by an item-level description that explains its significance and historical context. Additional information about selected items is provided by curator videos. Other features include advanced image-viewing, timelines, interactive maps, and in-depth thematic sections on selected topics.