Skip to Main Content

Italian Studies: Home

Welcome

Using this guide

This guide introduces you to physical and online information, resources and tools. They have all been carefully selected to help you study or research Italian at Monash.

The guide will also help you to develop your skills in finding useful material.

For Italian studies, physical materials such as books and other printed publications are mostly held at the Matheson (Clayton) Library. The Library holds a large collection of materials in both English and Italian.

Key resources in Italian studies

  • MLA international bibliography (EBSCOhost) 

    Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. 

  • ProQuest 

    The Proquest platform is a large multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to key online databases, both full text and bibliographic.

  • Istituto Centrale per il Catalogo Unico

    The Online Public Access Catalogue of the National Library Service (SBN) allows you to carry out bibliographic searches in the collective catalog of Italian libraries.

Get help from a librarian

Get help from a librarian when you need support beyond what you can find in this guide. Bookings are available for students, educators, and researchers.

Librarians can help you with a range of tasks including:

  • using the Library's collections
  • finding and evaluating information
  • citing and referencing
  • understanding copyright