Skip to Main Content

French Studies: Welcome

Bienvenue

Using this guide

This guide introduces you to physical and online information, resources and tools. They have all been carefully selected to help you study or research French at Monash.

The guide will also help you to develop your skills in finding useful material.

For French studies, physical materials such as books and other printed publications are mostly held at the Matheson (Clayton) Library.

Key resources in French studies

  • Cairn.info 
    Provides a comprehensive collection of publications in the French language in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. Some content is full text.

  • ProQuest 
    A large interdisciplinary database, including French resources

  • Gallica : la bibliotheque numerique
    Website of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliotheque nationale de France (The National Library of France). Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, music scores, animation, and sound files of French and other publications and manuscripts in history, literature, music, art, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.

  • SUDOC 
    French collective catalog produced by libraries and documentation centers for higher education and research. It includes more than 13 million bibliographic records that describe all types of documents (books, theses, journals, electronic resources, audiovisual documents, microforms, maps, scores, manuscripts (excluding Calames) and old books, etc.)

 

Get help from a librarian

Get help from a librarian when you need support beyond what you can find in this guide. Bookings are available for students, educators, and researchers.

Librarians can help you with a range of tasks including:

  • using the Library's collections
  • finding and evaluating information
  • citing and referencing
  • understanding copyright