Comprehensive collection of publications, including journal articles and books, in French for social sciences and humanities. Go to the international edition for English language articles, or Mundo for Spanish.
A large, multidisciplinary platform, with access to scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. This is not French-specific, but does include French content, and can be filtered to French-language only content.
ACLS humanities e-bookThis link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities eBook is an online collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers, in the humanities and related social sciences. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. It is produced by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers. Up to 200 new titles are added annually.
AFI catalog : American Film Institute catalog (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThe AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. Drawing on the expertise of specialist staff at the American Film Institute (AFI), it is a key resource for any educational institution that is involved with the research, study and teaching of film. Search via key word, film title, character name, cast and crew production, release information, subject, genre, and songs. Plot summaries are included in most entries.
Alexander Street PressThis link opens in a new windowThis portal provides access to Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform (Select the My collections dropdown, and then one or more collections). Video, audio, and text collections, covering a wide variety of subject matters, are included. In addition to secondary sources, the portal also contains significant primary source material. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Amsterdam University Press [collection]This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.
Archives hubThis link opens in a new windowThis JISC database provides a single point of access to descriptions of archives held in universities and colleges in the United Kingdom. At present these are primarily at collection-level, although where possible they are linked to complete catalogue descriptions. Web links to the actual collections are not provided, nor are the text or images of collections included. Each description includes: location; dates of creation; physical extent; administrative/biographical history; scope and content; and, access conditions.
Archives of sexuality and gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940This link opens in a new windowThe Library subscribes to Part I, II and III. Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries. Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. This second instalment in the series highlights often-excluded groups--even within the LGBTQ community--and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism. Part III: broadens the scope from a specific focus on LGBTQ history and culture in Part 1 and Part II to the study of sex and sexuality. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.
Archives unboundThis link opens in a new windowArchives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics. Use this gateway to explore the Library's subscribed content.
Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1800+ of the world's leading arts and humanities journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.
Arts & humanities database (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis full-text journal database has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subject strengths of the collection are: Art, design, crafts and photography; Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; Architecture, interior design and urban planning; History, philosophy, geography and religion; Modern languages and literatures; Music, theatre, film and cultural studies.
Australasian video onlineThis link opens in a new windowAustralasian Video Online is an online streaming database of documentary and educational videos from many of Australasia's top video publishers. This collection brings together the region's most-studied and respected films and includes key video published from the mid-20th century to present day. Films highlight regional perspectives on anthropology, environmental studies, business, economics, health, media studies, the arts, and other important disciplines. Films come from the National Film and Sound Archive's Film Australia Collection, SBS Television, George Andrews Productions, Beamafilms, and Electric Pictures, amongst others.
Australian screenThis link opens in a new windowAustralian screen covers the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. Contains clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS.
BBC video collectionThis link opens in a new windowAlexander Street's BBC Video Collection comprises nearly 600 titles from the most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
Brepolis LatinThis link opens in a new windowThe Brepolis Latin Cross Database Searchtool (CDS) enables users to consult and search the different full-text Latin databases of Brepolis Latin Latin: the Library Of Latin Texts (LLT), the electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica (eMGH), the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL), and the Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) simultaneously.
Brill onlineThis link opens in a new windowBrill Online Books and Journals offers searching and access to over 175,000 book chapters and journal articles. Brill’s publications focus on the humanities and social sciences, international law and selected areas in the sciences. In addition to its journals and books publishing programmes, Brill also offers reference works and primary source materials, including prestigious publications such as the Encyclopedia of Islam, Brill’s New Pauly and others. Note: Full text access is to subscribed content only.
Brill online reference worksThis link opens in a new windowBrings together major Brill online reference works under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. Subjects covered include: History, Classical studies, Middle East and Islamic studies, International relations, Asian studies, Biblical studies, African studies, Jewish studies, Language and linguistics, and Religious studies. Full text access is restricted to subscribed titles only.
C19, the nineteenth century index (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowC19 indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919, [and] is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 14 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection-specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource.
Cambridge companions onlineThis link opens in a new windowCambridge Companions is a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Note: access available to subscribed titles only.
Cambridge coreThis link opens in a new windowCambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Cambridge Core provides a gateway to ebook and journal publications of the Cambridge University Press imprint, covering subjects from all disciplines. (Only ebooks purchased by Monash University Library are available as full text access. Searches can be limited to this content by ticking the box "Only search content I have access to")
Cambridge journals onlineThis link opens in a new windowCambridge Journals Online offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of nearly 400 leading journals, including over 200 published on behalf of learned and professional societies. Cambridge Journals Online covers a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Central and Eastern European online libraryThis link opens in a new windowOnline database which provides access to full text articles from humanities and social sciences journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, South-Eastern, Baltic and Eastern European topics. Most of the content comes from material published in Central and Eastern Europe and is thus in the original language (titles, abstracts and some keywords are translated into English).
Chicago manual of style onlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Chicago Manual of Style—with more than two thousand hyperlinked paragraphs online—has become the authoritative reference work for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers. It covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation, and includes useful tools such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets. (Access is to the latest 17th edition, and also to the 16th edition)
Communication & mass media complete (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create an authoritative research and reference resource in the communication discipline. CMMC offers core indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 journals, and selected priority coverage of nearly 200 more. There is full text coverage for over half of these journals.
Conference proceedings citation index. Social science & humanities (Web of Science)This link opens in a new windowThe conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the social sciences. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Crime, punishment and popular cultureThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice ... It helps researchers explore the causes and effects of the rise in crime during the Industrial Revolution, the development of metropolitan police departments, and the public's fascination with increasingly sensational accounts of crime in newspapers and fiction. It covers changing attitudes about punishment and reform that led to such practices as solitary confinement, prison work programs, and penal transportation, as well as "scientific" theories such as phrenology, which posited that character could be determined by physiognomy.
DART-Europe : e-theses portalThis link opens in a new windowAccess to digitised theses from various European universities. DART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is managed by UCL Library Service.
Defining genderThis link opens in a new windowDefining Gender explores the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture, one of the most vibrant areas of social, cultural and intellectual research, transcending traditional disciplinary boundaries. The broad range of thematically organised documents from selected libraries provides an excellent opportunity for comparative study and research. Original British source material includes ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, etc., and address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives
Digital scholar labThis link opens in a new windowUsers must create their own account.
"On the 17th of December 2021, the Lab will move to a new and improved user interface. As part of this transition, we will make enhancements to the Build, Clean, and Analyze workflow. Content sets and clean configurations will migrate to the updated experience as part of this transition.
However, we’re unable to migrate existing analysis visualizations and tabular data, given the nature of these enhancements. To ensure you retain your existing visualisations, we suggest Gale Digital Scholar Lab researchers download and save their analyses from the existing platform before the 17th of December.
Click here to learn how to download existing Visualisations ( https://www.dropbox.com/s/yondorp02yopynr/DS%20Lab%202021%20Enhancements%20for%20Customers.pdf?dl=0 )
Your content sets, documents and cleaning configurations will not be affected; alternatively you can re-run your analyses on the new enhanced platform after the 17th of December with mostly identical results. Any visualizations run on the existing platform will not be accessible on the enhanced version after the 17th of December."
Authorised Users may download no more than 10,000 (ten thousand) Source Content documents per Session
"Authorised Users may distribute the outputs of Text and Data Mining, provided, however, that (i) where snippets and/or bibliographic metadata are distributed, they must be accompanied by a DOI link that points back to the individual full text article or book chapter, (ii) where images or text excerpts are used, Authorised Users are solely responsible for securing any intellectual property or other rights for reuse from the relevant rights holder, and (iii) the distributed outputs must include a proprietary notice stating "Some rights reserved. This work permits non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited."
d. This license does not permit, and Licensee shall not permit, Authorised Users to: (i) Use snippets of text from individual full text articles or book chapters of more than 200 characters (excluding text entity matches or bibliographic metadata)."
The Gale Digital Scholar Lab gives users the ability to create custom content sets containing as many as 10,000 documents. They can search across their library's Gale Primary Sources holdings and seamlessly select documents to be added to their custom content set. Users can analyze and interrogate the data with the text analysis and visualization tools built into the Gale Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more. Users content sets remained saved in the Gale Digital Scholar Lab allowing them to manage their research for long term projects. They can publish their outputs with confidence retaining all intellectual property rights and are free to share analysis outputs.
Directory of open access booksThis link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Books is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Directory of open access journalsThis link opens in a new windowCovers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
e-Duke books scholarly collectionThis link opens in a new windowThe e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection consists of 1000s of e-book titles covering the humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Duke University Press. An extensive back file of over 2000 titles is available for searching. Each year about 120 titles are added, ensuring the currency and relevance of their list.
East Europe, Central Europe database (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East View universal databasesThis link opens in a new windowEast View Universal Databases offer subscription databases comprised of published content from Russia and former Soviet states, China and East Asia. It provides access to newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents, and other materials, in native and translated languages. A transliteration feature is included.
EBook collection : EBSCOhost.This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text database from EBSCOhost, offering a selection of scholarly, frontlist eBook titles from leading publishers. These titles cover a broad range of academic subjects and topics. The Library has access to selected titles, as well as to many open access titles included in the database.
Ebook libraryThis link opens in a new windowSee now: ProQuest ebook central
EBSCOhost research databasesThis link opens in a new windowPortal to full text and/or bibliographic EBSCOhost databases (Monash University Library current subscriptions are displayed). Databases are sourced from leading information providers, and subject coverage is multi-disciplinary.
Edinburgh University Press collectionThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of over 280 electronic books published by Edinburgh University Press between 2004 and 2011. This Press is the premier scholarly publisher in Scotland of academic books and journals and one of the leading university presses in the UK.
EduTVThis link opens in a new windowSee also: Informit EduTV
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Essay and general literature retrospective (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis H.W. Wilson database comprises indexes and abstracts of essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers eight decades (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th century. Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
EuropeanaThis link opens in a new windowEuropeana.eu is a digital library containing over 30 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.
Film & television literature index with full text (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (120 in full text) and 100 books. Also contains movie reviews from 1914 to the present and 1000s of images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Filmakers library onlineThis link opens in a new windowThis collection from Alexander Street Press includes issues-based documentaries of interest across the curriculum. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Gale academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowGale academic OneFile provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN, NPR and CBC. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography. Full-text of the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996 is also available.
Gale primary sourcesThis link opens in a new windowA full-text database, formerly Artemis Primary Sources, that cross-searches Gale's extensive digital archive collections, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), The Making of the Modern World : the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, and The Making of Modern Law : Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926. The platform features Subject Indexing to aid content discovery across collections, Term Frequency which can suggest the importance of particular concepts during given periods, and Term Clusters which displays terms that commonly occur in relation to a search term.
Gale general OneFileThis link opens in a new windowGale's largest general-interest periodical resource, Gale General OneFile, provides periodical and news information for all research levels. Also available are reference sources, newspapers, including the full-text of the New York Times from 1985 to the present (updated daily), and The Economist from 1988 to the present, with no embargo, and audio content e.g the full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present with searchable transcripts. Also travel guides from Dorling Kindersley and Fodor’s, and links to thousands of video files from providers including NYTimes.com Video Collection and Associated Press Video News.
Gutenberg-eThis link opens in a new windowNow an Open Access site. A series of digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship produced in collaboration with the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press. Each e-text may offer extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.
Hathi Trust digital libraryThis link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, based in the United States, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Humanities & social sciences collection (Informit)This link opens in a new windowThis largely full text collection contains peer reviewed journals, books, conference proceedings, and research papers and reports, with indexing from 1940 to the present, and full text form 1998. Topics covered include agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology with an Australasian focus.
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective : 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis H.W. Wilson database offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of over 1 million articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations to book reviews. Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and much more.
Humanities index (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities index indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subjects covered include: archaeology, current affairs, education, economics, environment, gender studies, history, law, political science and religion.
Humanities index retrospective : 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis H.W. Wilson database indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to millions of articles, including citations to books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
Indigenous Australia (Informit)This link opens in a new windowRepresents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, and theses and videos. Covers Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander studies, stolen generation, removal of children, arts, copyright issues, racism, discrimination, and communities. Covers the period from 1968 to Dec. 2002.
Indigenous collection (Informit)This link opens in a new windowWith a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. The multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, etc. It covers the period from 1977 to present both for full text publications and index.
Informit searchThis link opens in a new windowSearches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
Informit Edu TVThis link opens in a new windowFor teaching use only
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Content includes documentaries, drama and series from free to air TV channels and selected pay TV channels, complemented with study guides, and videos are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. There is an archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly. Pay TV documentaries are included from The History Channel, National Geographic, NITV, BBC Knowledge and Discovery and more.
International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowA database for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. The database also contains contains 100s of full-text titles, including up to 200 full-text journals, and 100s of full-text books & monographs.
International encyclopedia of communication online (Wiley online library)This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the 12-volume reference, International Encyclopedia of Communication from Wiley, spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Updated several times per year.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowTo log into Kanopy:
- Click on 'Log In to Monash'
- Enter your Monash credentials in the popup window
- Click on 'Skip' for "Create Your Account"
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions, providing them with a dedicated and customizable website through which their users can stream films. The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases including titles from Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, Media Education Foundation, Ronin, Documentary Education Resources, and more. More than 20,000 films and documentaries are available, and many cover a wide range educational disciplines.
Literature online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowLiterature online was migrated from ProQuest's legacy Chadwyck-Healy platform to the main ProQuest platform in January 2019. On the new platform, new user-driven enhancements and functionality are available, such as: now being cross-searchable with a wealth of relevant content on the ProQuest Platform including Early European Books, Historical Newspapers, Dissertations, and more. Literature Online is an authoritative online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
Macquarie dictionary onlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Macquarie Dictionary Online gives you access to the most up-to-date database of Australian English, with annual updates of new words, along with its companion reference the Macquarie Thesaurus.
Manchester medieval sources onlineThis link opens in a new windowThis series provides translations of key medieval sources, with accessible and contextual introductions and helpful annotations throughout. The books meet a growing need for texts central to medieval studies courses, and focus upon the diverse cultural and social as well as political conditions that affected the functioning of all levels of medieval society. First hand accounts, many translated into English for the first time, are provided.
medici.tvThis link opens in a new windowmedici.tv is a leading classical music library, offering streaming video access to the best of classical music. More than 150 live events are broadcast each year, in addition to 1,000s of programs, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. The programs are available on demand and include concerts, archives, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Monash University research repositoryThis link opens in a new windowThe Monash University Research Repository contains content representing Monash University's research activity. The repository provides a place to securely store and centrally manage selected research data, collections, and related publications so they are globally accessible online. The repository contains accepted versions of published works like books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers. Non-published manuscripts and grey literature like theses, technical reports, working and discussion papers, and conference posters are collected. Research data holdings, data sets, image collections, audio and video files are also included in the repository.
Mura / AIATSIS collections catalogueThis link opens in a new windowMura, the Aiatsis Library catalogue, includes bibliographic details of all Library materials. The Library contains comprehensive collections of print materials on Australian Indigenous studies. The Library's collections include manuscript materials, serials, language materials, books, rare books, art catalogues, newspapers, maps, posters and kits. The AIATSIS Audiovisual Archives hold film, video, recorded sound and pictorial materials.
OAPEN : online library and publication platform.This link opens in a new windowOAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books primarily in the humanities and social sciences. It provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation. The OAPEN Library is a quality-controlled collection of open access ebooks with new titles regularly added.
Online books pageThis link opens in a new windowFeatures an index to millions of books that can be freely read on the Internet. It also includes pointers to significant directories and archives of online texts, and special exhibits. The site was founded in 1993 by its current editor, John Ockerbloom, and is hosted by University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Oxford bibliographies. Cinema and media studiesThis link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image.
Oxford bibliographies. ClassicsThis link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Classics. Expert recommendations are made on the best works available in Classics, with concise treatment of large topics such as "Greek Art" or "Sparta" to quickly get users up to speed.
Oxford English dictionaryThis link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. While still finding present-day meanings in the OED, users will also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Oxford handbooks onlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve. The Oxford Handbooks are one of the most successful and cited series within scholarly publishing. Note: access is to purchased content only.
Oxford journalsThis link opens in a new windowThe Oxford journals site provides full text access to scholarly journals published by Oxford University Press (full text access to subscribed content only) Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Access is provided for current content and also for an archival collection.
Oxford referenceThis link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Reference Library offers hundreds of in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, Oxford companions, language references, and subject reference works, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works. Monash University Library subscribes to selected titles only.
Oxford scholarly editions onlineThis link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. Modules purchased by the Library are: Early 17th century drama; Early 17th century poetry; Early 17th century prose; Shakespeare; Renaissance prose; Restoration prose; Renaissance drama; Restoration drama; Renaissance poetry; Restoration poetry; Romantics drama; Romantics poetry; Romantics prose. Selected works from some European philosophers of the Romantic period, such as Bolzano, Godwin, and Hegel, are also included. Note: full text is available for selective titles only, as the collections have not been purchased since 2012, and 2015 for the Romantics collection.
Periodicals archive online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of hundreds of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, including some published as far back as 1770. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.
Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. The database provides global coverage and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than half a million records in 37 languages. Sources include journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies, etc., while subject coverage spans aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, meta-philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
Popular literature, fiction and songs in Russia onlineThis link opens in a new windowThis collection illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender. The collection also includes rags-to-riches tales of social mobility, adventures set in Siberia and the Caucasus, and the stories of the occult world of wizards and sorceresses. Taken together, these lively texts illustrate changing stereotypes of gender, ethnicity, and social class. The collection follows the evolution of the Russian language in its popular commercial print form.
Project GutenbergThis link opens in a new windowProject Gutenberg has the goal of making information, books, and other materials freely available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Offers access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives. Discusses electronic texts and publishing, how to make a donation, and how to volunteer.
ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowThe Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Arts premium collection (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThe Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, this collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews. Coverage: 1864 to the present.
ProQuest centralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Central brings together many of ProQuest's most used databases to create a most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, the collection includes thousands of scholarly journals, newspapers, trade publications, magazines, dissertations, working papers, market reports and videos, all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
ProQuest ebook centralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest's eBook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from academic, trade, and professional publishers in all academic subject areas. Books can be browsed and borrowed to read online, or downloaded to your own computer or electronic device to read offline.
Register of Australian Archives and ManuscriptsThis link opens in a new windowThe Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (RAAM) is a guide to primary research material - that is, collections of personal papers and non-governmental organisational records held by Australian libraries and archives. It is managed by the National Library of Australia, and is part of TROVE.
Routledge Handbooks onlineThis link opens in a new windowNote: Full text access to subscribed titles only
The Routledge Handbooks Online collection bring together leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research from Routledge, and CRC Press, in the Humanities, Social sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built environment, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Routledge performance archiveThis link opens in a new windowThe Routledge Performance Archive provides exclusive access to a continually expanding range of streamed video and audio footage from performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary. The archive contains interviews with key figures in performance history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist performance trainers from around the world; footage direct from legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries, and specially commissioned contextual essays accompanying each entry.
SAGE research methods onlineThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SRMO contains content from more than 600 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series from SAGE.
Scopus (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowBrowser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringerLink is a portal to Springer publications. It provides researchers with ready access to a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, book series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer, and by associated imprints such as Palgrave. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary with an emphasis on the sciences, technology and biomedical literature.
Studies on women and gender abstractsThis link opens in a new windowSpanning content from 1995 to the present, this resource is an international abstracting database covering key areas of women's and gender studies. Abstracts of articles from over 1,300 sources (books, journals and other materials) are available. International in coverage, the database focuses on education, employment, family, health, gender roles, social policy, psychology, culture, media treatment, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
Taylor & Francis onlineThis link opens in a new windowPortal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which provides access to thousands of e-books and journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Searches can be filtered to Library subscribed content only. The site also hosts a growing collection of Open Access content.
Theatre in videoThis link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been licensed from a wide range of copyright holders. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Thesaurus linguae GraecaeThis link opens in a new windowThe TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of the Byzantium in 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
TVNewsThis link opens in a new windowFor teaching use only
See: Informit TVNews
UC Press e-books collection, 1982-2004This link opens in a new windowIncludes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics including art, science, history, music, religion and fiction. Monash University Library provides access to nearly 500 of these titles
Wiley online libraryThis link opens in a new windowWiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides access to journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases from John Wiley & Sons and its imprints, including Wiley-Blackwell, Wiley-VCH, and Jossey-Bass. Specifically, it includes access to Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, (e.g. Cochrane Library, eEROS, and SpecInfo). Also to 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series, and to Wiley reference works.
Women in the National ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowThis resource is comprised of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in the National Archives, Kew; and, Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories. The finding aid enables researchers to quickly locate details of any document relating to women in the National Archives at Kew, and has the benefit of ranging across all of the classes of material held at the National Archives. The original documents focus on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.
Women's studies archive. 1. Women's issues and identitiesThis link opens in a new windowSelect collections, then filter options, then archives, then select "Issues and identities"
This resource of 15 collections traces the path of women’s issues from past to present - pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, it offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women. Topics covered include: the history of feminist theory and activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies, and more.
World Digital Library (WDL)This link opens in a new windowThe World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, UNESCO, and other partner organizations. The WDL seeks to preserve and share some of the world’s most important cultural objects, increasing access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents to enable discovery, scholarship, and use. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. Each item on the WDL is accompanied by an item-level description that explains its significance and historical context. Other features include advanced image-viewing, timelines, interactive maps, and in-depth thematic sections on selected topics.