Spatial data and maps: Australasian maps and spatial data

calculates the distance between two places in Australia

AUSTopo - Australian Digital Topographic Map Series, 1:250,000 topographic maps. Also links to digital versions, via dashboard, of the indexes for 1:50 000, 1:100 000, 1:250 000 and 1:1 million scale Australian topographic maps.

250k and other maps available from Geoscience Australia. Includes access to: 250K scale topographic map data; GlobalMap - 1:1 million scale topographic map data; Geology - 1:1 million and 1:2.5 million scale geological map data; and geoMAP - quality PDF map

Map-based access to authoritative spatial data from Australian government agencies.

See also "Spatial data sets"

Map enabled Data Discovery Portal - University of Queensland, supported by the Australian Government through the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy and the Super Science Initiative.

useful search engine to search across Australian map collections.

Provides economic, demographic, industry and market information specific to Australia

Federal, State and Local government entry point

A single point to find, access and reuse public datasets from the Australian Government and state and territory governments; both downloadable datasets and links to online data services.

◦ Environmental Resources Information Network (ERIN): provides online data, spatial data integration and analysis.
◦ National Vegetation Information System (NVIS): information on distribution of vegetation types in Australia.

includes links to "Notices to Mariners", Maritime Gazetteer and Australian Chart Index

AMSIS contains many layers of information displayed in themes of Maritime Boundaries, Petroleum, Fisheries, Regulatory, Environment, Native Title and Offshore Minerals.

Provides bathymetry data, mostly commonly using multibeam surveys, to measure of ocean depth and to produce a map charting the sea floor. Data may be downloaded as individual tiles, or purchased as an entire dataset. Formats include: ASCII xyz; CARIS Grid file; GeoTIFF; and ESRI Grid..

Information about Australia’s coast (including estuaries and coastal waterways)

◦ Long-range weather and climate including data, maps and climate extremes
◦ Monthly Weather Review all states. Includes link to Monthly Climate Summary, based on preliminary data (a day or so after the end of the month)
◦ Rainfall data (including maps, daily and average coverage)

Including Astronomical and geodetic calculations

Geoscience Australia's hub to a number of portals

Geocentric Datum of Australia, Geoscience Australia

please see below for highlighted sites

free (includes 250K topographic data in raster format). Registration required

2013 edition. Registration required, but download free.

Links to various GA tools, datasets, maps etc.

Includes Scanned images (various resolutions) of the Australia 1:250,000 geological map series from Geoscience Australia