Theses: International theses

The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries from around the world, including Monash University Library. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; book chapters; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; journal chapters; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, and more.

American Doctoral Dissertations, is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select American colleges and universities. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a broad span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

Access to digitised theses from various European universities. DART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is managed by UCL Library Service.

EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. There are approximately 500,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 260,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 220,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.

See: ProQuest dissertations & theses global

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). This database allows searches, and provides links to electronic theses and dissertations, from hundreds of member institutions of NDLTD in the US, South America, China, UK, Singapore and South Africa, and others.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Bibliographic database that indexes theses and academic exercises submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions, namely Raffles College, University of Malaya, University of Malaya (Singapore division), the Nanyang University and the University of Singapore. Titles in Chinese are excluded. Ceased updating in Sept. 2007.

The Australian National Library's Trove service helps users find and use resources relating to Australia. It provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata is aggregated from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.