Subject guides: Tourism: Databases and journals

Key databases

Tourism databases
Tourism Australia Database

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
See: Gale academic OneFile
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.
Australian heritage bibliography (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures. Inclusive coverage: 1987 - Oct 2012.
Australian tourism index (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Indexes a wide range of material (e.g. government documents, journal and newspaper articles and conference papers) on Australian, New Zealand and Pacific tourism and related fields, including leisure, sport and recreation. Coverage: 1982 to June 2000.
Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, it also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business & economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Monash University Library subscribes to the following six modules:1. AU Industry Reports 2. AU Specialised Industry Collection 3. AU SME Industry Reports 4. AU Business Environment Profiles 5. AU Industry iExpert Summaries 6. China Industry Reports.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Searches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage is a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across every major marketplace worldwide. This database gives you access to company focussed Case Studies, which offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies to help you quickly and easily understand what makes them successful. Also access the new Company Financial Analysis Tools, a suite of 4 interactive databases, that allows users to conduct their own analysis depending on their needs.
Passport This link opens in a new window
For access to this database, personalisation is required. The user will be prompted to complete a one-time form. Firefox or IE browser is recommended
Passport is Euromonitor International's global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Passport contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for hundreds of consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives users strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Great Barrier Reef marine park province database (Informit) This link opens in a new window
REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a database that indexed articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century. Coverage: 1982 to July 2014.
Travel writing, spectacle and world history, 1818-1976 This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover many topics and a wide variety of forms of travel writing is represented, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. The sources can also be used to examine the variety of motivations for travel including tourism, work, exploration, missionary work and pilgrimages. They also show the diverse range of women who travelled.

For expert advice on effective information research for assignments and research projects go to Finding and evaluating information.

Alternatively, you may choose to browse Tourism databases
or all Monash databases

For help getting started with TRA Online, follow this guide .

A forum where researchers and scholars first report their findings and ideas. Journals are ongoing publications also referred to as serials, periodicals, magazines or newspapers.

Some journals are peer-reviewed or 'refereed', this means articles published in these journals have been critically evaluated by specialists or experts within academic and / or industry fields. Many journals at Monash are available electronically, but photocopies of articles held in print at other campuses may be requested via the intercampus photocopy service.

To locate journal holdings use the library catalogue Advanced search, Journal title, or, browse keywords.

Monash has individual journal titles in both print and electronic formats. To locate journal holdings use the library catalogue Advanced search, Journal title, or, browse keywords.

Here are some useful titles:.